Esfandiari Dominating WPT Five Diamond

Antonio Esfandiari
Antonio Esfandiari

Antonio Esfandiari continues to dominate the 2010 WPT Doyle Brunson Five Diamond World Poker Classic heading into Day 5 in Las Vegas Tuesday with just 15 players remaining.

The Magician, as he's known to legions of poker fans across the globe, took the lead on Day 2 and has not looked back, moving up from a little over one million in chips to more than 2.5 million as they played down from 54 to the final two tables at the Bellagio Hotel & Casino Monday.

Esfandiari's closest opponent is 2010 World Series of Poker Main Event runner-up John Racener, who appears to be on the hottest streak of his young career after starting the day with under 200k and ending with close to two million, just weeks after winning $5,545,955 at the Main Event final table.

The rest of the final 15 is chocked full of notable names including Andrew Robl, Kirk Morrison, Luis Velador, Sorel Mizzi, Andrew Lichtenberger, Vanessa Rousso, Amit Makhija, Ted Lawson and Chris DeMaci, who burst onto the live poker scene with a final table appearance at the PokerStars NAPT Los Angeles main event last month.

Doyle Brunson, for whom the tournament is named, finished 18th.

Also among those who cashed, but failed to advance to Day 5 were Season IX WPT Player of the Year points leader Andrew Frankenberger, the godfather of Norwegian poker Thor Hansen, WPT Season VI POY Jonathan Little and two-time WPT and WSOP title winner Freddy Deeb.

They will play down to a final table of six inside the storied Bellagio poker room Tuesday as the Fontana Lounge is prepared to host Wednesday's televised final table.

A total of 438 players entered the 2010 WPT Five Diamond main event at the creating a $4,248,600 prize pool with $870,124 set aside for first.

Play will resume on Day 5 Tuesday at 12 p.m. PT. To follow all the action, tune in to PokerListings' WPT Live Updates.

Here's how the final 15 stand:

1 Antonio Esfandiari 2,680,000

2 John Racener 1,900,000

3 Andrew Robl 1750,000

4 Kia Mohajeri 1,694,000

5 Kirk Morrison 1,545,000

6 Luis Velador 1,423,000

7 Sorel Mizzi 1,380,000

8 Ray Dehkharghani 1,148,000

9 Andrew Lichtenberger 915,000

10 Vanessa Rousso 888,000

11 Chris DeMaci 801,000

12 Amit Makhija 756,000

13 Ted Lawson 400,000

14 Danny Fuhs 247,000

15 Charles Caris 125,000

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »