Cimpan wins second WPT at World Poker Finals

Bling Bling!
Cornel Andrew Cimpan is once again a WPT champion.

Cornel Andrew Cimpan won his second WPT title of the year last night taking down the 2009 WPT World Poker Finals.

Cimpan outlasted 352 players and a final table that included noted pros Matt Stout and Lee Markholt to win the title at Foxwoods Resort Casino for $910,058.

Last February Cimpan won his first WPT title at the Los Angeles Poker Classic for $1.68 million.

The confident Cimpan had no problem praising his own game after the heads-up match with Soheil Shamseddin concluded - especially after entering heads-up play with a 4-1 chip disadvantage.

"He was tough, but I'm just a little bit better," said Cimpan. "It was nowhere near as tough as the L.A. final table."

Despite his second-place finish, Shamseddin further cements his status as one of the most consistent players on the poker circuit. He received $463,332 for second. blogger Matt Stout, who was chip leader for much of the final two days, appeared destined to win the event before getting sucked out on by Shamseddin for most of his chips.

Stout held a flush to Shamseddin's trip kings, but the river filled up Shamseddin's boat.

Stout was left with only a handful of chips and, despite mounting a brief comeback, eventually busted out in third for $265,710.

Two-time WSOP bracelet winner Eric Froehlich came in fourth, busting in an all-too familiar race situation while Curt Kohlberg flamed out in fifth.

One of the most well known names at the final table was the first casualty.

In just the second hand of the day short stack Lee Markholt pushed all-in with A K pre-flop and Stout called with A 6. Three spades hit the board and that was enough to end Markholt's short experience at the final table.

The next WPT tournament is a big one and not just in name alone. The prestigious Doyle Brunson Five Diamond World Poker Classic will take place Dec. 14-19, 2009 in Las Vegas.

The final-table payouts for the 2009 WPT World Poker Finals:

1. Cornel Andrew Cimpan - $910,058

2. Soheil Shamseddin - $463,332

3. Matt Stout - $265,710

4. Eric Froehlich - $232,496

5. Curt Kohlberg - $199,283

6. Lee Markholt - $166,069

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »