Oboodi Takes Down WPT Borgata Poker Open

Bobby Oboodi.

Local pro Bobby Oboodi is $922,441 richer after taking down the 2011 WPT Borgata Poker Open Championship tonight in Atlantic City.

Along with the near million-dollar payday, Oboodi also gets a silver WPT card protector, his name inscribed on the WPT Champions trophy and a $25k seat into the season-ending WPT World Championship at Bellagio.

Oboodi, who plays in the same home game as 2011 WSOP bracelet winner Allen Bari, had the chip lead coming into the final table and was never in any real danger throughout the day until he briefly lost the chip lead heads-up.

He recovered quickly however and after staying fairly close in chips took home the title a few hands later with a turned queen-high flush

His heads-up opponent was surprisingly not fellow chip leader coming into the day Fred Goldberg but Virginian Jin Hwang, who came into both Day 4 and final-table play as the short stack but managed to turn it into a $554,303 payday.

Goldberg for his part struggled throughout the course of the day, fought with Oboodi’s boisterous rail at times and finally busted out in fourth for $280,925.

Finishing in third was online grinder Daniel “wildman75” Buzgon, who took home $335,433.

Fellow online grinder Darren Elias took fifth for $230,610 and Brit Ricky Hale sixth for $186,585.

The $922,441 is by far the biggest lifetime score for Oboodi, whose previous best cash was for $44,800 in the PokerStars World Championship of Battleship Poker at the PCA in 2009.

Not lacking in confidence however, Oboodi told WPT Host Mike Sexton shortly after his win that it “couldn’t happen to a nicer guy” and that he planned to put his name on the WPT trophy again at the WPT World Championship in April.

The 2011 WPT Borgata Poker Open was the biggest event in the WPT’s 10-year history, with 1,313 entries creating a $4,192,913 prize pool.

Check out a recap of all the action in the WPT live updates here.

Official places and payouts for the final six:

1st: Bobby Oboodi - $922,441

2nd: Jin Hwang - $554,303

3rd: Daniel Buzgon - $335,433

4th: Fred Goldberg - $280,925

5th: Darren Elias - $230,610

6th: Ricky Hale - $186,585

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »