Thorsson wins 2009 Amsterdam Master Classics

Fatima Moreira de Melo
PokerStars SportStar Fatima Moreira de Melo made her first final table at the 2009 Amsterdam Master Classics of Poker this weekend.

Swede Kristoffer Thorsson beat a compelling final table at the 2009 Amsterdam Master Classics of Poker to win €636,120 this weekend.

To book the win, Thorsson had to get by former Dutch field hockey player Fatima Moreira de Melo, a PokerStars SportStars, consistent Dutch Team PokerStars Pro Thierry van den Berg and English Full Tilt Pro Ben Roberts.

Moreira de Melo came to the final table as one of the medium stacks, but wasted no time trying to chip up.

The Olympic gold medalist got unlucky when her pocket kings failed to get past an opponent's A-Q and shortly after, she made an ill-timed shove for the last of her chips to end up the first elimination at the final table.

Moreira de Melo took home 32,832 for coming in ninth place, her first cash on the International poker circuit.

The next  to bust was Roberts, who made a move with Q-3 and got called down. Van den Berg would soon follow after losing a race with pocket jacks versus A-Q.

Thorsson had entered the final table second in chips and never let up in his journey to the title.

He busted Tim van de Riet, Nicklas Saarisilta and Andras Nemeth on his way to a heads-up match against Turkish player Saydam Ozgur.

Although the Master Classics of Poker was his first major live tournament score, Thorsson has racked up hundreds of thousands in online winnings.

Playing under the screen name Sumpas, Thorsson won a World Championship of Online Poker title in September taking down the $10,300 No-Limit Hold'em High Rollers event for $600,000.

The 2009 Amsterdam Master Classics of Poker took place Nov. 10-13 at the Holland Casino. The €6,000 buy-in event drew 342 players creating an overall prize pool of just over €2 million.

Here are the complete final table payouts:

1. Kristoffer Thorsson - €636,120
2. Saydam Ozgur - €365,256
3. Nicklas Saarisilta - €211,356
4. Andras Nemeth - €135,432
5. Tim van de Riet - €108,756
6. Kenny Hallaert - €86,184
7. Theirry van den Berg - €65,664
8. Ben Roberts - €45,144
9. Fatima Moreira de Melo - €32,832

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick