N.Y. rep signs on to IGREA

Timothy Bishop

Last week saw another congressman join in supporting Rep. Barney Frank's bill to legalize and regulate online gambling in the United States.

Rep. Timothy Bishop (D-N.Y.) became a cosponsor of H.R. 2046, the Internet Gambling Regulation and Enforcement Act, Friday.

Currently serving his third term in Congress, Bishop is a member of the House committees on Budget, Education and Labor, and Transportation and Infrastructure.

During the 109th session of Congress, Bishop voted for Bill Frist's bill to further restrict online gambling in the United States. He voted yes to the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act, allowing it to pass into the Senate where it was added to the Safe Port Act and passed into law.

Now he has switched sides to support legalizing and regulating Internet gambling, which would bring the United States into compliance with World Trade Organization regulations and potentially bring in billions of dollars in tax revenue for the government.

He brings the number of IGREA cosponsors up to 47, joining the following members of Congress:

Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii) Gary Ackerman (D-N.Y.) Robert Andrews (D-N.J.)
Joe Baca (D-Calif.) Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.) Howard Berman (D-Calif.)
Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.) Michael Capuano (D-Mass.) Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.)
Julia Carson (D-Ind.) William Lacy Clay (D-Mo.) Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)
Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.) William Delahunt (D-Mass.) Bob Filner (D-Calif.)
Vito Fossella (R-N.Y.) Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.) Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.)
Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.) Michael Honda (D-Calif.) Steve Israel (D-N.Y.)
Peter King (R-N.Y.) John Larson (D-Conn.) Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.)
Jim McDermott (D-Wash.) James McGovern (D-Mass.) Charlie Melancon (D-La.)
George Miller (D-Calif.) James Moran (D-Va.) Ron Paul (R-Texas)
Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.) Ciro Rodriguez (D-Texas) Steven Rothman (D-N.J.)
Linda Sanchez (D-Calif.) Adam Schiff (D-Calif.) Robert Scott (D-Va.)
Adam Smith (D-Wash.) Ellen Tauscher (D-Calif.) Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.)
Edolphus Thompson (D-N.Y.) Melvin Watt (D-N.C.) Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.)
Robert Wexler (D-Fla.) Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.) Albert Wynn (D-Md.)
Don Young (R-Alaska)

Related Articles:


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »