Dryer awash in free beer, 2008 WSOP seat

Hello Hello
Milwaukee's Best eases bubble anguish

Easing the pain of a bustout just outside the money at the 2007 WSOP Main Event, Milwaukee's Best Light again hosted its now-annual "bubble playoff" on Friday.

With a $10,000 2008 WSOP Main Event seat and a year's supply of free beer at stake, the last nine to bust out before the money were drawn back to the table for a second-chance freeroll.

The winner: Lee Dryer, from Franklin, Tenn., who eventually bested Ronald Toledo from Edmonton in a heads-up battle, with his K-7 off-suit beating Ron's A-9 suited when he flopped a king.

Lee was grateful to leave the Rio with something to show for his time at the WSOP.

"I was despondent to be knocked out right on the bubble in the Main Event," he said, "particularly because I had enough chips in front of me to make the money.

"But I gathered myself last night and thought about how exciting it would be to leave Vegas with a seat in the 2008 Main Event. I'm thankful Milwaukee's Best Light gave me that opportunity."

Kevin Rutherford, Senior Brand Manager for Milwaukee's Best Light, was also happy for Dryer.

"I'm excited for Lee that he can for a full year look forward to returning to the Main Event," Rutherford said. "That is why we hold the Bubble Playoff, to give great poker players who just missed the money the opportunity to return to the richest poker tournament in the world and give it another shot."

Your other, now-even-sadder, 2007 WSOP bubble boys who participated in the freeroll: Neil Chriss from New York, Robert Clothier from Colorado Springs, Georges Sebag from France, Scott Gray from Ireland, Tim Duckworth from Melbourne, Robert Thompson from New Hampshire, and John Sigan from Ohio.

Dryer can also take home some added hope from last year's bubble playoff winner, Hoa Nguyen - Nguyen took his free seat this year and has made today's final 36, guaranteeing himself a payout of at least $285,678.


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »