Timoshenko, Flack confirmed for World Open V

Layne Flack
Layne Flack will make an appearance at the World Open V.

Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Layne Flack and eight other world-class poker players were added to the PartyPoker World Open V roster yesterday.

JP Kelly, Teddy Sheringham, Andrew Feldman, Roland De Wolfe, Paul Zimbler, Sammy George, Bruno Fittoussi and 2009 November Niner Antoine Saout will help create one of the fiercest line-ups ever assembled for the prestigious event, which takes place Oct. 11-15, 2009, in London.

Perhaps no one is hotter than Timoshenko at the moment.

Since August 2008, he's won the APT Macau main event, the WPT World Championship and the PokerStars WCOOP Main Event, totalling $4.2 million in prize money in those three events alone.

Timoshenko was also in prime position to make the final table of the 2009 WSOPE before busting out in 25th.

Meanwhile Flack is one of the most well-known poker players in the world and has already won six WSOP bracelets and one WPT title. Never one to shy away from controversy, the outspoken Flack is instantly recognizable at a poker table.

English player George has been garnering a great deal of media attention lately after accepting a heads-up challenge against Tom "durrrr" Dwan and then putting in a strong showing in the PokerHeaven European Cash game.

The 48-person field also includes Tom "durrrr" Dwan, Luke "FullFlush" Schwartz, Jennifer Tilly, JC Tran, Phil Laak, Ian Frazer, James Akenhead and several other big-name poker players.

"The early money is for durrrr, which isn't really a surprise, but favorites do not have a good record in this competition," said a PartyPoker spokesperson. "We're delighted with the field. Every heat features a super strong line-up."

The spokesperson went on to mention that one of the best heats features Timoshenko, Akenhead, Schwartz and Frazer at the same table.

Past winners of the shootout-style World Open include Lee Nelson, Liam Flood and Anthony Hardy.

Last year Marty Smyth outlasted all competitors and then beat Neil Channing heads-up to take down the $250,000 first-place prize in the World Open IV.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »