Moneymaker, Mortensen, Devilfish in Final 10 for Hall of Fame

Legacy lives on.

Is this the year a European finally makes the cut for the Poker Hall of Fame?

Does Chris Moneymaker jump to the front of the list for his immense impact on the game far and wide?

Does another Brunson join the prestigious list of names honored for their lifetime contributions to the industry?

We'll find out on October 26 when the two 2016 inductees, selected from the list of 10 finalists released today, will step up to the podium in the famed Longhorn Room at Binion's in downtown Las Vegas.

3 New, 7 Previous Finalists

After a lengthy public nomination process and vetting from the Poker Hall of Fame's Governing Council, the official 10 finalists eligible for induction in 2016 were revealed today.

Chris Moneymaker

Up to two names from the following 10 will get the nod after a second round of voting by the 25 living Hall of Fame members and a 20-person media panel.

And the nominees are:

  • Chris Bjorin
  • Humberto Brenes
  • Todd Brunson
  • Eli Elezra
  • Bruno Fitoussi
  • Chris Moneymaker
  • Carlos Mortensen
  • Max Pescatori
  • Matt Savage
  • Dave "Devilfish" Ulliott

Three of the nominees - Brunson, Elezra and Moneymaker - made the list of 10 finalists for the first time.

The others were all nominated last year with the exception of Brenes, who has made the final 10 previously.

Voting Until October 7

2016 WSOP Todd Brunson
Time for another Brunson?

The destinies of each candidate are now in the hands of the 45-person voting panel who will evaluate each on the criteria set out by the Hall of Fame Council. The criteria:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success

Official ballots have been sent to the voters who will have until October 7 to return them to the WSOP Governing Council. The inductees will be announced after all votes have been tallied.

The 2016 Class will be inducted as part of the WSOP Main Event final table playdown with a special dinner and ceremony at Binion's Longhorn Room Oct. 26. The inductee(s) will also be acknowledged on stage at the Penn & Teller Theater during the Nov. 9.

Last year's inductees were Jennifer Harman and John Juanda.

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

No Comments

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick