Elio Fox Wins 2011 WSOP Europe Main Event

New York-native Elio Fox has won the 2011 World Series of Poker Europe Main Event, defeating Chris Moorman heads-up to take the title and €1.4 million first-place prize.

The 25-year-old Fox, a former student at Bard College who has won over $2.3 million online, boosts his career live poker tournament searnings to over $2.5 million with the win.

Fox was the runaway chip leader coming into the final table today in Cannes with 3.9 million in chips and he kept his edge from beginning to end.

Given the caliber of his final-table mates, it was needed.

First to bow out of the final eight was young British pro Max Silver, who got his stack in early on with AK against Moorman’s jacks and failed to improve. Second in chips coming in to the final table, Triple Crown winner Jake Cody was then a surprise bustout in 7th.

Cody lost two big pots in succession to engineer his demise, the final blow being a horrible beat after getting it in good with jacks vs. Fox’s tens only to lose to a straight.

Defacto WSOPE Player of the Year Shawn Buchanan was next to go in sixth, getting it with with tens against Dermot Blain’s A-4 only to see an ace come on the river.

Shawn Buchanan
If there was a WSOPE POY, it would be Buchanan.

Including a runner-up finish in the €10,400 Split Format event, Buchanan cashed four out of the seven events in Cannes to take home over €425,000.

Blain followed Buchanan out the door in fifth, but the roughest exit of the day maybe belonged to fourth-place finisher Brian “flawlessvictory” Roberts.

The well-known high-stakes pro had worked his stack up to over $3 million before his fortunes turned in a huge hand against UK pro Moorman.

Moorman raised to 175,000 in the cut-off and Roberts called on the button. On a

 flop, Moorman checked and Roberts bet 245,000.

Moorman check-raised to 605,000 and Roberts called. The turn card came the

 and Moorman bet out 675,000. Roberts called and the river came the

Moorman shoved, Roberts called and flipped over the

 for the flopped second-nut flush, but Moorman turned over the
. Roberts was crippled and busted out shortly after.

Finishing in third after a fairly under-the-radar day was German pro Moritz Kranich, leaving Moorman and Fox to go toe-to-toe heads-up.

Starting with a 2-1 chip advantage, Fox kept the pressure on from the start. He only increased his stack from there, finally busting Moorman after rivering a flush in a big hand and then getting it in with his A-T dominating Moorman’s A-7 shortly after.

Fox adds the 2011 WSOPE title to an already impressive year in live poker tournaments which includes a win at the Bellagio Cup in July for $644,192.

Chris Moorman
So close, yet so far for Chris Moorman.

Moorman takes home €800,000 and the knowledge he gave Ben Lamb an unexpected sweat for the WSOP Player of the Year title.

Had Moorman won he would have scooped the lead in the POY race from Phil Hellmuth and force Ben Lamb to finish fourth at the upcoming Main Event final table to secure the award.

With the second-place finish however Moorman falls just short and the guaranteed 100 points Lamb will receive for his at-least ninth-place finish locks in the title.

Here are the official final eight finishers and their payouts, courtesy of wsop.com:

  1. Elio Fox €1,400,000
  2. Chris Moorman €800,000
  3. Moritz Kranich €550,000
  4. Brian Roberts €400,000
  5. Dermot Blain €275,000
  6. Shawn Buchanan €200,000
  7. Jake Cody €150,000
  8. Max Silver €115,000

For a full rundown of the day's action, check our WSOPE live updates section.

Related Articles

Unibet Poker Open 2023
Unibet Open Bukarest 2023 – Here we go!

Unibet Open Bukarest alkoi pari tuntia sitten, pahoittelut että blogi pääsee vauhtiin myöhässä. Syytetään Lufthansaa, joka onnistui eilen jättämään matkalaukkuni Frankfurtin kentälle. Nyt on laukku saatu tänne Bukarestin Marriottiin ja…

November 30, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
Unibet Poker Open 2023
Suomalaisten chip count, Event 1

Ville Mustonen 65K Aleksi Naski 265K Samuli Hietala 330K Jarno Jokiniemi 85K Max Avela 260K Kai Lehto 105K Feras Abid 130K Topi Palenius 95K Atte Franssila 85K Markku Vihavainen 50K…

September 16, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
Unibet Poker Open 2023
Voitonjako on selvillä

Ensimmäisen sormuskisan WSOPC Event 1, voitonjako on nyt selvillä. Turnauksen palkintopotti on 183.360€, ja 47 parasta pääsee rahoille. Turnauksen voittaja kuittaa mukavat 38.510€, ja min cash on 1.100€. Tällä hetkellä…

September 16, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
WSOP banner
WSOP Schedule 2020

The 2020 World Series of Poker kicks of in Las Vegas on May 27th. With a time frame of more than 7 weeks and 100 tournaments this will be the…

August 21, 2023 | Arved Klöhn
WSOP banner
Pikku tauon jälkeen jatketaan

Pidettiin pieni tauko, nyt peli jatkuu tasolla bb ante 4K, blindit 2K/4K. 111/573 pelaajaa.

July 25, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
melvin shroen live reports from The Festival in Nottingham 2023
PokerListings set to do Live Reporting from The Festival Series in Nottingham (13-19 February 2023) 

Melvin Schroen - Live Reporter For the first time in the history of The Festival Series, an event series is being held at the Dusk Till Dawn Pokerclub in Nottingham.…

March 22, 2023 | Melvin Schroen
PokerListings Awards 2022
PokerListings Operator Awards – Winners 2022

Since 2020, we have been awarding the best poker operators and innovators in the poker business with our PokerListings Operator Awards. Every year the operators are nominated and awarded in…

January 11, 2023 | Bjorne Lindberg
Oliver Hutchins Wins the Trophy in the €500K GTD PPC Malta Main Event (€71,000)

Oliver Hutchins Wins 2022 PPC Malta Main Event United Kingdom's Oliver Hutchins won the trophy in the €500,000 guaranteed PPC Malta €550 Main Event for €71,000 after a back and…

April 7, 2022 | Jason Glatzer
All Poker News

Comment on that

Your message is awaiting approval