Scotty Nguyen, Tom McEvoy Elected to Poker Hall of Fame

Scotty Nguyen
Scotty Nguyen

Two former world champions in Scotty Nguyen and Tom McEvoy have been selected as the 2013 inductees into the Poker Hall of Fame.

Nguyen, who won the 1998 WSOP Main Event in infamous fashion, is a five-time WSOP bracelet winner and 12th on poker's all-time money list with $11.7 million in career earnings.

His latest big win came in 2008 when he won the $50k Poker Player's Championship for just under $2 million.

McEvoy, the 1983 Main Event champ and noted poker author/emissary, revealed the news via Twitter this morning:

Exclusive: WSOP's Ty Stewart Tells Scotty Nguyen He's in Poker Hall of Fame

Induction Ceremony Part of 2013 November Nine

Tom McEvoy
Tom McEvoy at the 2005 WSOP.

As has become tradition the induction ceremony will take place at the Rio in Las Vegas on Nov. 3 as part of the November Nine playdown.

Among the most recent inductees are Brian "Sailor" Roberts and Eric Drache in 2012 and Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson in 2011.

Nguyen and McEvoy were selected in a vote from a group of 10 nominees by living Hall of Fame members and selected media.

Nominees this year included Huck Seed, Carlos Mortenson, Jennifer Harman, Thor Hansen and Mike Matusow.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick