Galfond, Ivey, Dwan Among 32 Named for NBC Heads-Up

Tom Dwan and Phil Ivey
Tom Dwan and Phil Ivey

The first 32 names on the confirmed list for the reborn $25k NBC Heads-Up Championship were released today with Tom Dwan, Phil Galfond and Phil Ivey among the marquee attendees.

With another 32 names still to be revealed things could take a different turn but for now the list is filled with fairly tried-and-true picks from poker’s elite.

Inconic poker names Doyle Brunson, Erik Seidel, Andy Bloch and Daniel Negreanu all made the cut from poker’s “old guard” as did Antonio Esfandiari, Barry Greenstein, Mike Matusow, John Monnette, Mike Sexton and Ivey.

Maria Ho
Maria Ho.

Representing the younger generation of online grinders are Galfond and Dwan along with Brian Hastings, Faraz Jaka, Greg Merson, Scott Seiver, Yevgeniy Timoshenko and Mohsin Charania.

Ho, Rousso and Tilly Only Women So Far

So far just three female players have been named in Maria Ho, Vanessa Rousso and Jennifer Tilly, but it would be a surprise if all-time leading money winner Vanessa Selbst and PokerStars pro Liv Boeree weren't included in the remaining 32.

Others who have independently confirmed they'll be playing but aren't on the current list of 32 include Viktor "Isildur1" Blom, Chris Moneymaker, Matt Salsberg, Phil Hellmuth and Dan "Jungleman12" Cates.

Annie Duke and Chris Ferguson, both past NBC Heads-Up champions who typically receive automatic invites, are not on the confirmed list.

Filming is set for January 24-26 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas with each session beginning at 1:30 pm. A selection party to set the final 64-player bracket will be held on January 23 at Caesars.

The current list of confirmed players:

  • 1. Doyle Brunson
  • 2. Erik Seidel
  • 3. Andy Bloch
  • 4. Daniel Negreanu
  • 5. Brian Hastings
  • 6. Bertrand (Elky)Grospellier
  • 7. Andrew Frankenberger
  • 8. Phil Galfond
  • 9. Antonio Esfandiari
  • 10. Will Failla
  • 11. Matt Glantz
  • 12. Barry Greenstein
  • 13. Maria Ho
  • 14. Vanessa Rousso
  • 15. Phil Ivey
  • 16. Mike Matusow
  • 17. John Hennigan
  • 18. Faraz Jaka
  • 19. Ben Lamb
  • 20. David Williams
  • 21. Jonathan Duhamel
  • 22. Tom Dwan
  • 23. Greg Merson
  • 24. John Monnette
  • 25. Mike Sexton
  • 26. Mohsin Charania
  • 27. Olivier Busquet
  • 28. Jennifer Tilly
  • 29. Yevgeniy Timoshenko
  • 30. Scott Seiver
  • 31. Eugene Katchalov
  • 32. Greg Raymer

You May Also Like


Micro-Stakes Master BlackRain79 Talks Grinding in Thailand, New Book

Nathan “BlackRain79” Williams has done something amazing.

21 April 2014

Johnny Lodden: “10 Years Ago Nobody Had Heard of Aggressive Poker”

Now a long-time poker vet, Johnny Lodden remains one of the iconic members of the online revolution in the mid 2000s.

17 April 2014

Borgata Lawsuit Shows How Phil Ivey Won $9.6m Edge-Sorting in Baccarat

New details have come to light about how Phil Ivey used a technique called edge-sorting to win more than $9.6 million from Borgata in baccarat...

16 April 2014

Xuan Liu and Sofia Lӧvgren Sign On with Team 888poker

888poker announced today it has signed two of the most impressive young poker players in the world in Xuan Liu and Sofia Lӧvgren to its...

14 April 2014

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

Comment added. Thank you!

No Comments