PartyPoker Irish Championship final table set

Ciaran O'Leary
Ciaran O'Leary had home court advantage at the PartyPoker Irish Championship but it didn't help him make the final table.

After two days of play at the Radisson SAS Hotel in Galway, Ireland, the PartyPoker Irish Championship final table has been set.

The field started out with 298 players including well-known players like Ciaran O'Leary, Robert Williamson III, Padraig Parkinson, Jon Kalmar, Marty Smyth, Marcel Luske, Noel Furlong, Mike Sexton, Steven Wong and Dutch pop star Maud Mulder and Polish television personality Aga Rylik. Now only eight players remain and there's £180,000 on the line for first place.

The final table is made up of a group of relatively unknown players mostly from Ireland including hometown heroes Jude Ainsworth and Bernard Brady who are both from Galway. Keith McFadden of Donegal has the chip lead with €698,000 while Michael McCool of Nottingham is one of the short stacks but has one heck of a great poker name. One thing is certain - by the end of the night the Irish will be celebrating.

The event is being filmed for broadcast on RTÉ television in February and will be distributed internationally. The Irish Poker Championship is the first major sponsorship in Ireland by and with the Irish Poker Open also taking place in the country it seems that poker is very much alive in the land of the shamrock and potatoes.

Keeping checking for information on the eventual outcome of the prestigious tournament.

Here's a complete look at the chip stacks heading into the final table:

Chip Count:
1. Keith McFadden (Donegal)
2. Jude Ainsworth (Galway)
3. Trevor Dineen (Cork)
4. Tommy Watson (Athlone)
5. Bernard Brady (Galway)
6. Michael Moran (London)
7. Michael McCool (Nottingham)
8. Glen McCabe (Lurgan)

Related Articles:


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »