Battle of Malta Wins Low Buy-In Event of the Year for 2014!

It's official: The 2014 Battle of Malta is the European Poker Award winner for low buy-in (under $2k) event of the year!

Awarded live during the ongoing EPT Malta festival tonight, Battle of Malta defeated co-nominees the Estrellas Poker Tour Barcelona Main Event, the Eureka Poker Tour Prague Main Event and the WPT500 at Dusk Till Dawn to take home the trophy.

With 1,447 entries and a €700,000 prize pool, the 2014 BOM smashed its own record for biggest poker tournament ever held on Malta and became the largest standalone event in Europe.

Bulgarian Antoan Katsarov  won the BoM main event crown in an epic heads-up battle against local Alan James Brincat to earn €122,750. 

Danzer, Jacobson, Salter Among Elite Winners

Hard to top WSOP ME win.

The 2015 European Poker Awards had a star-studded lineup of nominees in the house in Malta and, accordingly, an impressive group of winners emerged.

2014 World Series of Poker Main Event champion Martin Jacobson fittingly claimed the Tournament Performance of the Year, although he had to top Vicky Coren Mitchell's second career EPT title to do it.

Davidi Kitai, for his dazzling play in WSOP Event #15, and Dominik Panka, for his PCA Main Event run, were also nominated.

England's Jack Salter, a member of Team UK at the recent Global Poker Masters, earned the title of Breakout Player of the Year, topping George Danzer, Panka and fellow Team UK'er Oliver Price.

Danzer didn't go home empty-handed, however, as he took home one of the marquee awards of the evening in Poker's Best Ambassador.

Ambassador of the Year George Danzer

The EPT Vienna Main Event won the award for Poker Event of the Year Over $2k Buy-in while EPTLive's Marc Convey won for Media Person of the Year.

The serial qualifier, Belgium's Pierre Neuville, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Charitable Initiative of the Year was awarded to the very deserving REG charity founded by Phil GruissemIgor Kurganov and Liv Boeree.

Germany's Ole Schemion and England's Boeree took home the pre-determined awards for Male and Female Player of the Year, respectively.

The full list of 2014 European Poker Award winners:

  • GPI Player of the Year: Ole Schemion
  • GPI Female Player of the Year: Liv Boeree
  • Poker's Best Ambassador: George Danzer
  • Tournament Performance of the Year: Martin Jacobson, WSOP Main Event
  • Breakout Player of the Year: Jack Salter
  • Media Person of the Year: Marc Convey
  • Event of the Year (Under $2k Buy-In): Battle of Malta
  • Event of the Year (Over $2k Buy-In): EPT Vienna Main Event
  • Innovation of the Year: Unibet Launches Own Gaming Platform
  • Industry Person of the Year: Leon Tsoukernik, King's Casino
  • Charitable Initiative of the Year: REG Charity
  • Poker Media Content of the Year: Nosebleed Documentary
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Pierre Neuville
  • Global Poker Masters Most Valuable Player: Giuliano Bendinelli, Team Italy

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees for a spectacular year in European poker in 2014! See a list of the Best European Poker Sites here.

Related Articles

Unibet Poker Open 2023
Unibet Open Bukarest 2023 – Here we go!

Unibet Open Bukarest alkoi pari tuntia sitten, pahoittelut että blogi pääsee vauhtiin myöhässä. Syytetään Lufthansaa, joka onnistui eilen jättämään matkalaukkuni Frankfurtin kentälle. Nyt on laukku saatu tänne Bukarestin Marriottiin ja…

November 30, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
WSOP banner
WSOP Schedule 2020

The 2020 World Series of Poker kicks of in Las Vegas on May 27th. With a time frame of more than 7 weeks and 100 tournaments this will be the…

August 21, 2023 | Arved Klöhn
WSOP banner
Pikku tauon jälkeen jatketaan

Pidettiin pieni tauko, nyt peli jatkuu tasolla bb ante 4K, blindit 2K/4K. 111/573 pelaajaa.

July 25, 2023 | Juhani Tyriseva
melvin shroen live reports from The Festival in Nottingham 2023
PokerListings set to do Live Reporting from The Festival Series in Nottingham (13-19 February 2023) 

Melvin Schroen - Live Reporter For the first time in the history of The Festival Series, an event series is being held at the Dusk Till Dawn Pokerclub in Nottingham.…

March 22, 2023 | Melvin Schroen
PokerListings Awards 2022
PokerListings Operator Awards – Winners 2022

Since 2020, we have been awarding the best poker operators and innovators in the poker business with our PokerListings Operator Awards. Every year the operators are nominated and awarded in…

January 11, 2023 | Bjorne Lindberg
Oliver Hutchins Wins the Trophy in the €500K GTD PPC Malta Main Event (€71,000)

Oliver Hutchins Wins 2022 PPC Malta Main Event United Kingdom's Oliver Hutchins won the trophy in the €500,000 guaranteed PPC Malta €550 Main Event for €71,000 after a back and…

April 7, 2022 | Jason Glatzer
Final Table Payouts

PlacePrize1Oliver HutchinsUnited Kingdom€74,000*2Damir SavioCroatia€58,000*3Jingchun YuChina€31,0004Massimo RossiItaly€21,0005Wouter SchuurbiersBelgium€16,0006Federico CirilloItaly€13,0007Federico PetruzzelliItaly€10,0008Bradley GudgeonUnted Kingdom€8,0009Guiseppe DiBellaItaly€6,400 *Reflects heads-up deal.

April 4, 2022 | Jason Glatzer
Hutchins Doubles with Ladies to Take a Massive Lead

Level 41: 400K/800K (800K) Damir Savio jammed for 15 million from the button with 7 6 and Oliver Hutchins quickly made the easy call with Q Q from the big…

April 4, 2022 | Jason Glatzer
All Poker News

Comment on that

Your message is awaiting approval