How West Won The Wynn

Tim West
2011 Wynn Classic champ Tim West.

Online and live high-stakes tournament regular Tim West won the 2011 Wynn Classic Championship last week.

The $5,000 buy-in championship drew 212 players creating a $1,028,200 prize pool.

In the end, West beat online poker phenom and WSOPE champion Annette Obrestad heads up after a final table that included rising stars Matt Waxman, Eric Froehlich and Carter King.

The affable West earned $318,738 for the win, the biggest score of his live tournament career.

The win pushed West over the $1 million mark in live tournament earnings.

Chad Brown also won the $2,000 buy-in prelim event at the Wynn last week for $73,088.

Last year Brandon Cantu won the Wynn Classic for $363,844 besting a field of 242.

Here’s how the final table finished up this year:

1 Tim West $318,738

2 Annette Obrestad $215,922

3 Matthew Waxman $120,814

4 Max Steinberg $71,974

5 Eric Froehlich $51,410

6 Vasili Lazarou $41,128

7 Carter King $30,846

8 Francisco Braga $20,564

9 John Kim $17,944

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »