Cates, Kuo, Abernathy, O’Dea Among 2016 Spirit of Poker Nominees

Sam Abernathy (Photo: PokerStars)

The nominees for the 4th annual PokerListings Spirit of Poker Awards are among the most diverse group of poker players we’ve ever put together.

They come from all corners of the globe including Canada, Taiwan, Brazil, Germany, Russia, Italy, the UK and the USA.

Some of the nominees have been playing poker since before the Internet was even a thing; others are just starting out on what looks to be a long and promising career.

Every player on the following list has been picked for the spirit they bring to the game and the personality they display on and off the table.

In other words: Poker is better - as a game and industry - because these players take part in it.

Voting Runs June 1-August 31; Vote Now!

Our centerpiece award is the Most Inspiring Player category where we pick one player that, among other accomplishments, just simply make others want to play more poker.

Anatoly Filatov 2309
Last year's MIP Anatoly Filatov.

It could be because of an entertaining Twitch stream or their dedication to poker at all buy-in levels.

It could be for a relentless commitment to growing the game on a grassroots level.

Importantly, the Most Inspiring Player award aims to recognize someone who gives something back to poker in some way.

Click on the headers below to find out more about our nominees and to cast your vote! Voting is open from June 1- August 31.

The top three vote-getters in each category will advance to our final PokerListings voting panel where a winner will be determined.

Awards will be presented live in person at the 2016 Battle of Malta.

Fatima 1654
Fatima Moreira de Melo

2016 Most Inspiring Player Nominees

  • Daniel Cates - (USA)
  • Hui Chen ‘Kitty’ Kuo - (Taiwan)
  • Mike Leah - (Canada)
  • Fatima Moreira de Melo - (Netherlands)
  • Dominik Nitsche - (Germany)
  • Luca Pagano - (Italy)
  • Felipe Ramos - (Brazil)
  • Vladimir Troyanovskiy - (Russia)
Rainer Kempe

2016 Spirit of Poker Rising Star Nominees

  • Samantha Abernathy - (USA)
  • Rainer Kempe - (Germany)
  • Ivan Luca - (Argentina)
  • Silje Nilsen - (Norway)
  • Walter Treccarichi - (Italy) 
Barny Boatman

2016 Spirit of Poker Living Legend Nominees

  • Jan Bendik - (Slovakia)
  • Barny Boatman - (England)
  • John Gale - (England)
  • Donnacha O’Dea - (Ireland)
  • Konstantin Puchkov - (Russia)

Head over to the PokerListings Spirit of Poker Awards main page to place your votes now!

Past winners of our Spirit of Poker Awards include Shannon Shorr, Anatoly Filatov, Charlie Carrel, Humberto Brenes, Thor Hansen and Pierre Neuville.

Join the Fun at Battle of Malta 2016 

The 2016 Spirit of Poker Awards will be officially presented at this year’s Battle of Malta, which will take place in St. Julian’s, Malta, Nov. 2-7.

The small buy-in, big value tournament has grown in each year of its existence. Last year Frenchman Nicolas Proust outlasted 1,804 entries to take down €110k after a three-way deal.

All of the top three finishers took home over €100,000 and the overall prize pool hit an enormous €874,940. And that number could certainly be surpassed in 2016.

The effervescent Maria Ho will return as host and the event will once again take place at the Portomaso Casino attached to the five-star Hilton Hotel.

The Battle of Malta has grown into a full-bore poker festival with a variety of side events, including a high roller and PLO tournament, and a series of VIP player parties.

Qualify online for as little as 1c via 888poker or purchase your seat/package in advance right here.

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

No Comments

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Sorry, this room is not available in your country.

Please try the best alternative which is available for your location:

Close and visit page