Poker Hand Ranking

Seven Card Stud

Not sure what beats what in poker?

Check below for a list of all poker hands ranked from best to worst.

Answers to some of the most frequently asked poker hand ranking questions can be found below the list.

Still confused after? Drop a question in the comments and someone will more than likely sort you out.



Royal Flush       

A straight from a ten to an ace with all five cards of the same suit. In poker all suits are ranked equally.

Straight Flush       

Any straight with all five cards of the same suit.

Four of a Kind       

Any four cards of the same rank. If two players share the same Four of a Kind (on the board), the bigger fifth card (the "kicker") decides who wins the pot.

Full House       

Any three cards of the same rank together with any two cards of the same rank. Our example shows "Aces full of Kings" and it is a bigger full house than "Kings full of Aces."


Any five cards of the same suit (not consecutive). The highest card of the five determines the rank of the flush. Our example shows an Ace-high flush, which is the highest possible.


Any five consecutive cards of different suits. Aces can count as either a high or a low card. Our example shows a five-high straight, which is the lowest possible straight.

Three of a Kind       

Any three cards of the same rank. Our example shows three-of-a-kind Aces, with a King and a Queen as side cards - the best possible three of a kind.

Two Pair       

Any two cards of the same rank together with another two cards of the same rank. Our example shows the best possible two-pair, Aces and Kings. The highest pair of the two determines the rank of the two-pair.

One Pair       

Any two cards of the same rank. Our example shows the best possible one-pair hand.

High Card       

Any hand not in the above-mentioned hands. Our example shows the best possible high-card hand.

Poker Hand Rankings Explained

Poker Hand Rankings FAQ

Does a straight beat a flush?

No. This is one of the most common misconceptions in poker. In reality a flush (five cards of the same suit) always beats a straight (five cards in a numeric sequence). A straight-flush, which is five cards of the same suit in consecutive order, beats both hands.

What’s better -- Two-Pair or Three-of-a-Kind?

Three-of-a-kind always beats two-pair. The only “made” poker hand that two-pair beats is one pair. 

Does “All Reds” or “All Blacks” beat a straight?

“All Reds” or “All Blacks” doesn’t beat/mean anything in poker. To make a flush in poker you have to have five cards of the same SUIT. That means five spades, hearts, clubs or diamonds. Having all one color is not a poker hand.

Does it matter if I have higher flush cards?

It does. In No-Limit Hold’em if you have a flush with an ace as the highest card and your opponent has a flush with a king as the high card, you win. The easiest way to understand who wins is to lay out your complete five-card hand and compare it with your opponent’s hand. If anyone has a higher card, that person wins (obviously you both share the cards on the board).

Which suit is ranked the highest?

In poker, suits don’t count. Spades aren’t better than hearts, clubs aren’t higher than diamonds, etc. If you have the same hand as your opponent but in different suits then you simply split the pot. This misconception is from other games where suits do matter.

What do I beat if I have 3 Pairs?

Absolutely nothing. You just use your two highest pairs. There is no such thing as “3-pair” in poker.

Is there a difference between Trips and a Set? Which is better?

Trips and a set are the same hand: Three-of-a-kind. The difference is how you acquire three-of-a-kind. A set is made when your pocket pair hits one card on the board.

Trips are made when you utilize two cards on the board and one in your hand to make three-of-a-kind. Because they are much easier to conceal when betting, sets are generally considered the better hand.

What if there’s a straight on the board?

You chop the pot. That’s provided that no player has a better hand (flush or higher) or someone has a higher straight using the cards in their hand. 

What’s a Four-Flush?

A four-flush is when you use four cards of the same suit on the board and one from your hand to complete a flush. It’s worth noting this is one of the key differences between No-Limit Hold’em and Pot-Limit Omaha. In PLO you have to use two of your cards so you can’t have a four-flush.

What if I have the same pair as my opponent?

Once again you chop the pot. Pocket aces versus pocket aces generally means you have a split pot (unless someone is fortunate enough to hit a four-flush on the board).

Can you make a Straight with 4-3-2-A-K?

No. While the ace can make both the lowest straight (A-2-3-4-5) and the highest straight (A-K-Q-J-10) it can’t wrap around.

Does my 3-3-3-A-A Full House beat my opponent’s 8-8-8-K-K?

Nope. When it comes to full houses the highest of the three-of-a-kinds determines the winner. In the example above the full house with three 8s tops the full house with three 3s.

Who wins with Four-of-a-Kind on the board?

The player with the highest kicker. For instance if the board is 8-8-8-8-5, you have A-K and your opponent has K-Q, you win. (Your best five-card hand is 8-8-8-8-A, his is 8-8-8-8-K). If the board was 8-8-8-8-A you’d split the pot as the best five-card hand for both of you is 8-8-8-8-A.

What’s the difference Between Four-of-a-Kind and “Quads”?

Nothing. They’re exactly the same hand.

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

js 2015-05-29 13:24:51

brenda: Usually this action is covered by house rules. There is no absolute rule for this in Texas-Holdem. Whatever the custom is where you are playing is the rule.
Generally, if a player checks out of turn, he will be held to that when his turn actually comes. If he bets out of turn, he must bet that amount when his turn actually comes. But if that amount is raised to him, he must call or fold.
If you have a player that regularly does this, it's good to make your own house rule before play starts.

brenda 2015-05-29 11:14:16

when a person bets out of turn, and when another person goes ahead and bets. are both disqualified from that round?

js 2015-05-24 09:31:56

Adam: If one hole card makes your best hand with what is on the board, then you play it. If both hole cards make you the best hand with what is on the board, then you play them both. If neither hole card improves your hand with what is on the board then you don't play either one.
The ONLY idea behind hole cards is that you are the only one who knows what they are. THAT'S IT. There are no other rules about using them. They are not "worth" more or less than cards on the board. There are no special rules that say how you use them to make a hand just because they come from the hole. You play them if they help you make the biggest hand possible to you. Period.
At the end of the hand, there are 5 cards on the board and two in your hole. That's a total of seven cards. Shuffle them all around so you don't know where they "came from" any more. Pick five of them to make the best five card hand that you can. That's all there is to it.
Anyone who starts talking about how or when you can use your hole cards is trying to steal your money.

js 2015-05-24 09:07:04

emad: Your hand is J J 10 10 A. Opponent: A A 8 8 J. Both hands are 2-pair. The Aces beat the Jacks. Opponent wins.

Adam 2015-05-23 22:21:57

When does a hole card 'play'?

js 2015-05-23 21:19:22

Howard: Why not?

emad 2015-05-23 21:10:46

Which hand wins this?
On the table: J clubs 10 spades 8 spades A spades 8 clubs
My hand: J diamond 10 hearts
Opponent hand: A hearts 5 hearts

Howard 2015-05-23 15:37:32

Can I use a wild card in spades as part of a four card in hearts flush

js 2015-05-18 09:59:27

Anthony: If the flop goes all the way to the River, that's 5 cards on the board. You have 2 cards in the pocket. You then have 7 cards from which to make your best 5-card hand. It NEVER matters where the cards come from. You can play all 5 from the board, 4 from the board and 1 from your pocket, or 3 from the board and 2 from the pocket. All cards are worth their face value no matter where they came from. That's Texas Holdem rules.
In your first example you have A A 6 6 7. In your second example you have A A 7 7 Q. Both hands are 2-pair.

Anthony 2015-05-17 23:45:25

if you have A,7 and dealer flops A , 6 , 6 do you still have a 2 pair ? I thought you had to have it in your hand , for example A , 7 flops out A ,7,Q that would be a 2 pair