The PokerListings "Spirit of Poker" Awards

Naoya Kihara

Most Inspiring Player Naoya Kihara.

The public votes have been tallied, the finalists named and the PokerListings panel has made its picks for the first-ever PokerListings Spirit of Poker Awards.

And the winners are…

Most Inspiring Player -- Japan’s Naoya Kihara!

This is 50+ – Belgium’s Pierre Neuville!

Here Comes the Future – Italy’s Luca Moschitta!

We’re thrilled to announce our three winners and by the response to our first-ever edition of the Spirit of Poker Awards.

With a number of “Player of the Year” or “Rookie of the Year” Awards out there in the poker landscape we wanted to recognize a different type of player for our own annual awards.

At PokerListings, where our mission is to bring new players into the game, we think a true poker award should acknowledge something above and beyond just tournament wins or big scores.

Results are important but it’s the players who bring joy, heart, imagination, innovation and timelessness to poker who make it great.

We think our three winners do that in spades. Find out more about why each player was nominated on each individual Award page and congratulations to our winners!

Look for all three at our Awards Ceremony at the 2013 Battle of Malta in September. Top 3 finalists in each category are in BOLD.

This is 50+ Award

  • Marcel Luske
  • Pierre Neuville
  • Jan Bendik
  • Thor Hansen
  • Mike Sexton
  • Konstantin Puchkov
  • Chris Björin
  • Padraig Parkinson

Most Inspiring Player Award

  • Marvin Rettenmaier
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Naoya Kihara
  • Matt Salsberg
  • George Danzer
  • Max Lykov
  • Rocco Palumbo
  • Isaac Haxton

Here Comes the Future Award

  • Luca Moschitta
  • Sofia "Welllbet" Lövgren
  • Lauri Pesonen
  • Max Altergott
  • Paul Berende
  • Joni Jouhkimainen
  • James Obst
  • Ole Schemion


The winners of each category will be presented with their award during the PokerListings Battle of Malta. More information about the PokerListings Award ceremony will follow shortly.