WSOP Champs: Where Are They Now, Part 5

This is the fifth article in a 10-part series taking a look at the World Series of Poker champions from the very first to the most recent and at what they've done since in the world of poker.

The fourth installment featured Tom McEvoy, Berry Johnston and Johnny Chan, who've each put their unique stamp on the poker world.

This week the reign of the Poker Brat begins, plus we look at the first European to become the world champion as well as the first million-dollar champion.

Phil Hellmuth (1989)

Since winning the World Championship in 1989, Hellmuth has been a dominant force in the poker world. Not only does he continue to reign as one of the best No-Limit Hold'em tournament players, he's used his popularity to enter into all sorts of business ventures as well.

Looking just at his poker career over the years, the Poker Brat has gained a reputation for his table antics, but he also has a record-setting 11 WSOP bracelets to back up his attitude at the table. Adding to that are his 12 World Poker Tour cashes, with five of those landing him at the televised final table, and the more than $10 million he's picked up through tournament play.

His success at the poker table has led to him author and coauthor several poker books and to create his own poker tutoring video series and a poker camp. Hellmuth has also promoted an energy drink aimed at poker players and is a sponsored pro for UltimateBet.

In 2007, Hellmuth was inducted into the WSOP Hall of Fame, but he has many years of playing ahead of him.

Poker fans can be sure they'll be seeing him at televised events for years to come, and soon he may be heading to the big screen as well. A screenplay about his life has been optioned to be made into a movie.

Mansour Matloubi (1990)

Matloubi might be what some would call a "forgotten" World Champion. He won the World Series of Poker Main Event in 1990, making him the first non-American player to do so. It was a sign of things to come: more and more players have made their way to Las Vegas from far-flung locales as the game has grown in popularity.

The championship win was just the beginning of a decade of great tournament play for Matloubi. He made the money in several tournaments each year, most notably racking up 15 WSOP cashes including his win in 1990.

However, his last WSOP cash came in 2001, just a couple years before the poker boom kicked off in full force with Chris Moneymaker's Main Event win.

He has since been quiet on the U.S. tournament trail, and the Iranian-Welshman is thought to be sticking to European tournaments. Even so, his only noted tournament cash since 2001 is from the Betfair Asian Poker Tour in Singapore in 2006, bringing his tournament winnings up to more than $1.9 million.

Brad Daugherty (1991)

Brad Daugherty

The WSOP Main Event first broke the million-dollar mark for a first-place prize in 1991, and Daugherty was there to scoop it up and take it home.

Though he hasn't been able to duplicate that success, Daugherty continues to play on the tournament circuit. He's built his tournament winnings to more than $1.7 million now and has cashed in many prominent events over the years, including the 2007 WSOP Seniors Championship.

Perhaps his biggest influence on the poker world since becoming the first millionaire champion is coauthoring a couple of poker books.

Daugherty teamed up with Tom McEvoy to write No-Limit Texas Hold'em: The New Players Guide to Winning Poker's Biggest Game and Championship Hold'em Satellite Strategy.


Stay with us next week as we bring you three more WSOP champions and take a closer look at what they've been up to since they won the big dance.

Related Articles:

Comment on that

Your message is awaiting approval