The Secret Numerology of the 2014 World Series of Poker

Created By: Alexander Villegas
02 June 2014
Posted in: WSOP Blog, Tournament Trail
wsop 2014 by the numbers2

The World Series of Poker loves numbers.

This year, they’re big on the number 10. This is the 10th year the Rio has hosted the WSOP. The Main Event is also guaranteeing $10 million dollars to the next world champion.

This automatically makes it the second-largest WSOP Main Event prize, second only to Jamie Gold’s $12 million victory in 2006.

It’s definitely a step up from the grand total of $0 that Johnny Moss won for winning the first WSOP Main Event back in 1970.

Then there’s the 10 with a few more zeros. The 2014 WSOP is bringing back the $1 million buy-in Big One for One Drop. Predictions put the first-place prize in that event at over $20 million.

Then there’s the almost 10s. Most notably, Hellmuth’s nine.

Phil Hellmuth
If Phil Hellmuth had won every heads-up match he's been in at the WSOP he'd have 22 bracelets right now.

As noted in today’s WSOP 3-Bet, Phil Hellmuth has gone heads-up for a bracelet nine times and lost. The most recent runner-up finish came last night when Hellmuth finished second to Ted Forrest in a multi-hour Razz heads-up battle.

Over 65,000 Paid to Date

From there, the WSOP numbers get a bit more diverse. There’s 582,000, which is the number of poker chips used during the WSOP each year. These chips will be distributed among the 491 tables that the WSOP employed for 2014.

While we don’t know how many players will compete this year, we do know that 652,093 players have competed in the WSOP to date.

About 10 percent of those competitors have cashed with a total of 65,552 people getting paid. Only 1.67 percent of those players turned their cashes into a WSOP gold bracelet.

Thirteen of those bracelets have gone to Phil Hellmuth. Not fourteen, though. Not yet at least. Ted Forrest made sure of that last night.

Forrest himself now his six bracelets, the same amount of players Johnny Moss had to beat to become the first ever WSOP champion back in 1970. All those players were from the United States while 107 different countries made an appearance at last year's WSOP.

There were a total of 40 ESPN cameras plus a plethora of roving, hungover media covering that series.

But out of all these numbers, everyone seems to be focused on just one: 1.

The one who survived them all, the one victor, the one world champion. Last year it was Ryan Reiss, who took $8.36 million for winning the Main Event. At this point the field of contenders hasn’t even been narrowed to the thousands.

But they’re out there somewhere.

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

No Comments