Farber, Riess to Go Heads-Up for 2013 WSOP Title

Ryan Riess2
Ryan Riess

After an unpredictable day, Ryan Riess and Jay Farber are the only players still standing in the 2013 World Series of Poker Main Event.

Less experienced than some of the players at the final table, Farber and Riess elevated their games on Monday and spent much of the final table with a huge portion of the chips in play.

Surprisingly the chip leader at the start of the day and one of poker’s all-time winningest players, JC Tran, failed to take control of the final table and busted in fifth place.

Newhouse, Benefield First to Fall

Short stacks Mark Newhouse and David Benefield were the first players to bust on Monday.

Although both players doubled up early it was short lived as Newhouse busted ninth and Benefield eighth.

Michiel Brummelhuis was the next player to fall in seventh, although on the bright side his seventh-place finish was the highest ever by a Dutch player.

Brummelhuis’ exit prompted a long period of inaction where play became very tentative.

The short stacks traded chips back and forth and it took hours to find the next elimination.

Farber Shatters McLaughlin with Aces Over Kings

Marc McLaughlin 4
Brutal end for McLaughlin

The next bustout turned into arguably the hand of the day as Marc-Etienne McLaughlin and Jay Farber played a monster with pocket aces versus pocket kings.

McLaughlin, who was one of the more active players at the final table, was on the wrong side of the cooler and ended up falling in sixth place.

From there action heated up immensely with JC Tran, Sylvain Loosli and Amir Lehavot falling in rapid succession.

Tran’s tournament came to a rather inglorious end as his A-7 didn’t hold against a surging Farber’s K-Q. He never really regained control of the table after losing his chip lead in the early stages of the final table.

Riess busted Amir Lehavot in the final hand of the day to help get closer to Farber.

Interestingly three-handed play took over 200 hands in the 2012 WSOP final table while this year it took just one. Heads-up will commence tomorrow at 5:45 p.m. Las Vegas time and we’ll play to a winner.

Here are the chip counts and payouts:

  • 1. Jay Farber – 105,000,000
  • 2. Ryan Riess – 85,775,000


  • 3. Amir Lehavot - $3,727,823
  • 4. Sylvain Loosli - $2,792,533
  • 5. JC Tran - $2,106,893
  • 6. Marc-Etienne McLaughlin - $1,601,024
  • 7. Michiel Brummelhuis - $1,225,356
  • 8. David Benefield - $944,650
  • 9. Mark Newhouse - $733,224

Jay Farber and Ryan Riess Share Thoughts on Epic Heads-Up Match

Tomorrow our final two players will do battle for more than $8.3 million and the biggest title in poker but for now all they can do is offer their predictions.

Check out the videos below to find out how Jay Farber and Ryan Riess feel about the final table so far and their chances tomorrow evening.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick