Zero Bracelets Awarded - WSOP Day 8 Recap

Shaun Deeb
Shaun Deeb hopes to get his hands on his first WSOP bracelet.

Day 8 of the 2011 WSOP saw four ongoing events, none of which reached a winner by the time play was stopped for the night.

This year the WSOP has introduced a daily time limit and it's resulted in many events running a day over their scheduled duration.

Read on for highlights from the tournament floor in Las Vegas.

Event 8 - $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em – Final Table

Just three players remain in this event with Sadan Turker holding a bug chip lead with 7.9 million.

WSOP veteran Jon Turner is still in it with a chance at his first bracelet, but he's an underdog at this point with just 1.6 million in chips.

Sean Getzwiller sits in between with 3 million in chips.

Play will resume at 4 p.m today and will see a bracelet awarded.

Event 10 - $1,500 Six-Handed No-Limit Hold’em – Day 2

188 players returned for Day 2 of this shorthanded event but only 15 made it through to Day 3.

Fortunately, with 180 spots in the money, almost everyone was able to at least dip their toe in the prize pool.

Notables who busted in the money include Greg Mueller, Matt Stout, Amit Makhija, Melanie Weisner, Erica Schoenberg and Randall Flowers.

2010 bracelet winner Jeffrey Papola is leading the final 15 who will return tomorrow to play down to a winner.

Event 11 - $10,000 Omaha Hi-Low Split Championship – Day 2

Just 22 of the 202 players who bought into this $10k championship event are still alive and Guillaume Rivet is leading them all going into Day 3.

This tournament boasted a star-studded field from Day 1 and many of those big names are still in it with a shot at the bracelet.

Richard Ashby, Steve Billirakis, Freddy Deeb, Josh Arieh and Shaun Deeb number among the familiar faces still in the field.

The final 22 will attempt to play down to a winner tomorrow.

Click here to read our live coverage of the event.

Event 12 - $3,000 Triple Chance No-Limit Hold’em

The triple chance format allows players to take their starting stack in three separate bullets or all at once at the beginning of the tournament.

This event drew 1,340 and created a prize pool of $1,809,000 with 144 getting paid and $352,808 reserved for first place.

Peter Hernandez finished as chip leader on Day 1 by a small margin over Jonathan Karamalikis and J.C. Tran.

160 players survived the day. Notables among them include Andy Black, Cliff Josephy, Isaac Haxton, Carlos Mortensen, Kathy Liebert and Joe Cada.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »