PokerListings.com is the world's largest and most trusted online poker guide, offering the best online poker bonus deals guaranteed, over $1m in exclusive freerolls every year and the most free poker content available on the Web.
WSOP Tweet Relief: All Hell Breaks Loose
In case you missed it, one of the most unusual and controversial hands at the 2012 WSOP went down last night in the $50k Players Championship.
Check the full blow-by-blow of the hand from our live coverage last night for the details, but the long and the short of it is this:
Shaun Deeb, Abe Mosseri and Nikolai Yakovenko got involved in a massive three-way Pot-Limit Omaha hand.
Thirty minutes and two different floor rulings later Deeb had tripled up, Mosseri was one of the chip leaders and Yakovenko was out of the tournament despite never actually saying he was all in.
Oh, and Phil Ivey ended up involved somehow.
It's a weird one. And definitely worth reading through closely for the key details.
How did the pro world - and two of the participants - respond to it on Twitter?
Passionately, and on both sides of the argument, as usual:
Was just a part of another insane wsop hand that will be talked about for years I sucked out tho 300k going to say 3— shaun deeb (@shaundeeb) June 26, 2012
Absolute sickest hand of my life. Out. All I can say for now.— Nikolai Yakovenko (@ivan_bezdomny) June 26, 2012
@RealIsildur1 Good luck man. I hope you take all Abe's chips, whatever hair he has left, and the his soul, although I doubt he has one.— Nikolai Yakovenko (@ivan_bezdomny) June 26, 2012
Since this is being discussed: you raise pot, say twice you're not allin, guy announces his hand and asks what to do, lifts cards...— Nikolai Yakovenko (@ivan_bezdomny) June 26, 2012
Guy finally gets his read (announcing his hand, seeing reaction), say "CALL" and flips his cards. I'm forced to allin & accused of angle.— Nikolai Yakovenko (@ivan_bezdomny) June 26, 2012
There r worse things than losing a huge pot, getting a bad ruling, and being accused of angling. Losing your eye in a fight with Chris Brown— Nikolai Yakovenko (@ivan_bezdomny) June 26, 2012
Yakovenko got fucked. I have seen this happen about 100x over the past couple years and its always the bet stands and there are....— Christian Harder (@realcharder30) June 26, 2012
.... Penalties given. Its called Pot Limit for a reason. I understand the intention was allin, but it doesnt matter when the last...— Christian Harder (@realcharder30) June 26, 2012
....100 times, it has been ruled a different way— Christian Harder (@realcharder30) June 26, 2012
Im being told by some I am wrong here and the action was accepted by all parties. Interesting.— Christian Harder (@realcharder30) June 26, 2012
Btw Abe's tank is terrible. Easy shove/call with googles having so much more then Deeb and Deeb very unlikely to have an Ace.— Christian Harder (@realcharder30) June 26, 2012
@realcharder30ur dead wrong— Jason Mercier (@JasonMercier) June 26, 2012
So Yakovenko and Mosseri were ruled to be all in? Totally wrong because (1) Mosseri said call and (2) Mosseri said what he had while tanking— Todd Terry (@toddbterry) June 26, 2012
@Chase_Bianchi That's why you rule it consistently and say "you rolled the cards preflop and told the dealer to deal? You're all-in, lol."— Jimmy Fricke (@jvfricke) June 26, 2012
I'm not sure how I'd rule on the Abe hand, the intention appeared all in, but Abe did make a mistake saying call, I don't know— John DAgostino (@jdags21) June 26, 2012
Wow just read THE hand from the 50k. thoughts: awful shove by deeb, awful ruling by floor. should have been checked down. yakovenko fucked— Ryan Daut (@rcdaut) June 26, 2012
hard to have opinion on mosseri's play without knowing what kinda bets he has for the tourney. but man what an awful ruling.— Ryan Daut (@rcdaut) June 26, 2012
Anytime both players table their cards w a majortity of chips in play & allow the runout of the board it should be ruled an allin situation.— Matt Glantz (@MattGlantz) June 26, 2012
Agree with the ruling of last nights crazy hand. Absolutely clear when all hands are tabled that the intention of all was to be all in.— Daniel Negreanu (@RealKidPoker) June 26, 2012
You guys have convinced me otherwise the assumed action rule is correct. I guess given yakovenko tabled his hand its still assumed action— Ryan Daut (@rcdaut) June 26, 2012