Women in Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Open

Karina Jett
'We feel there are women out there who are eligible and deserving.'

Nominations for the Women in Poker Hall of Fame are open and for the first time ever, the public is being asked to submit names for induction.

Previously, nominations were closed to members only, but this year, anyone can nominate a qualified candidate for consideration.

"The nomination process is important and we feel there are women out there who are eligible and deserving," said board member Karina Jett. "We're inviting the public to help us assemble worthy candidates for this year's ballot."

To be eligible, a candidate must have been active as a player or industry leader for a minimum of 15 years. She must have contributed to the world of poker in some significant way and have won a major tournament or made significant contributions to the industry.

The candidate must also be a proponent of women's poker, supporting women's events even if she does not play.

In addition to the traditional members nomination process, voting will be open to the public and will count towards 50% of the results.

Voting by the public will be open on May 16th at the WiPHoF website.

Three candidates may be included in each person's vote.

To submit a nomination, click through to www.WomenInPokerHallofFame.com or www.WiPHoF.com.

The Women in Poker Hall of Fame was founded in 2008 by the Ladies International Poker Series and is designed to honor women in poker who have acquired prominence and made contributions to the poker world.

The first class of inductees included Marsha Waggoner, Linda Johnson, Susie Isaacs and Barbara Enright.

In 2009, June Field, Jan Fisher and Cyndy Violette were inducted.

Board Members include Susan Carter, Maureen Feduniak, Karina Jett, Lupe Soto, Suzie Lederer and Gyla Whitlow.

Induction to the 2010 Women in Poker Hall of Fame will take place in September.

Play at Titan Poker

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »