Women in Poker Hall of Fame coming to Binion's

Marsha Waggoner
Marsha Waggoner will be one of the first inducted into the Women in Poker Hall of Fame.

Over the last decade, the poker boom has brought many more players to the game and, according to estimates, approximately half of them are women. It was only this last year that the first woman, Barbara Enright, was elected into the Poker Hall of Fame, but come February there will be a new home for honoring the greatest women in the game.

It was announced Friday that the Ladies International Poker Series (LIPS) Tour is founding the Women in Poker Hall of Fame, which will be located at Binion's Gambling Hall & Hotel in downtown Las Vegas.

The Board of Directors of the new Hall of Fame include Lupe Soto, the founder of the LIPS Tour; Suzanne Carter, the director of marketing at Ocean's Eleven Casino in California; and poker players Karina Jett, Allyn Jaffrey Shulman and Maureen Feduniak.

The Board is supplemented with a Committee of the Women in Poker Hall of Fame, who met to consider who would be the original inductees into the Hall (as they will do each year). After considering the criteria for inclusion, the organization came up with four very deserving candidates who will be inducted into the Hall on Feb. 2.

The criteria for election to the Women in Poker Hall of Fame are:

  1. The candidate is an active player or industry leader at some time from a point 15 years prior to election.
  2. The candidate must have contributed to the world of poker in some significant way, either by winning major tournaments or making significant contributions to the industry of poker.
  3. The candidate must be a proponent of women's poker. If she doesn't play in women's tournaments, she must at the minimum support them.

The first four women who will be inducted into the Hall are Barbara Enright, Linda Johnson, Susie Isaacs and Marsha Waggoner, arguably some of the most recognizable women in the game today.

Enright is the only woman to ever make the final table in the World Series of Poker Championship Event. Johnson is a longtime poker veteran and WPT tournament director, while Isaacs is a two time WSOP Women's Champion and Waggoner has 18 cashes in tournaments at the WSOP.

The foursome will be inducted during a luncheon in Benny's Bullpen at Binion's on Feb. 2 at 11 a.m. WPT commentator Mike Sexton will be the Master of Ceremonies and tournament director/poker player Jan Fisher will be the guest speaker.

Fisher herself has a long history in the poker world and should be able to add some joviality in the stories she can tell about each inductee. Upon conclusion of the luncheon, a $500 open tournament will take place (roughly scheduled for about 2PM).

For those interested in honoring the women at the luncheon, the Hall is offering membership deals to join the organization for $75. This will include the luncheon, a special gift and participation in an invitation only freeroll scheduled for Feb. 3, with 20% of the membership fee donated to the Breast Cancer Angels Foundation.

To learn more details on how to obtain membership, the Women in Poker Hall of Fame in general or other details on the organization, visit WomensPokerHallofFame.com.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »