Williams Dominates WPT Championship

David Williams

David Williams got a fortunate turn of the cards when it counted the most at the 2010 WPT Championship final table late Saturday night.

Williams was embroiled in a tough heads-up battle against Eric Baldwin when he decided to call an all-in shove with pocket deuces.

Baldwin had pushed with ace-five suited for what proved to be the defining coin flip of the tournament.

In dramatic fashion an ace hit on the flop but a deuce on the turn gave Williams the pot and the victory.

"Winning a tournament always feels great," he said. "Even if it's a $100 tournament, it's an amazing feeling. To win a tournament of this caliber feels even better."

Williams broke into the poker world when he famously finished second to Greg Raymer at the 2004 WSOP Main Event.

"Financially it's not as awesome but this feels a hell of a lot better," he said. "At that point I had just won $3.5 million but I felt miserable."

The Bodog pro outlasted experienced players David Benyamine, Billy Baxter, Shawn Buchanan and John O'Shea to win the $1.5 million first place prize of the WPT Championship.

Baldwin, the 2009 CardPlayer of the Year, has already won a WSOP bracelet but will have to wait another day his first WPT victory. Baldwin received $1.03 million for finishing second, the biggest score of his career.

Irishman John O'Shea was the first player to be eliminated from the WPT Championship final table.

O'Shea shoved on the first hand of the day and although he didn't bust on that hand, it was indicative of how he would play the final table.

The high-stakes PLO cash game player made an ill-timed shove with 6-3 unsuited and was snapped off by veteran Billy Baxter with A-T. The board bricked and O'Shea was headed back to Dublin.

Despite the infusion of chips, it didn't take long for Baxter to follow O'Shea to the rail. Baxter had been very active pre-flop and finally got all-in with K T and David Williams called with A J.

Williams flopped a broadway straight and Baxter was never able to recover.

Busting Baxter seemed to send Williams into overdrive and with over 50% of the chips in play he was all too happy to throw his weight around.

The next player to leave was the player who started the final table with the chip lead. It wasn't the best day for the French Full Tilt pro and he finally succumbed to the rail after about four hours of play.

Benyamine made a move with Q J and somehow Shawn Buchanan found it in himself to call with ace-rag. The board came up dry and Benyamine was out in fourth.

By busting Benyamine, Buchanan became the chip leader but it didn't last long. He lost the chip lead to David Williams in less than an orbit.

It took a vicious bad beat to eliminate Buchanan from the WPT Championship.

Williams 4-bet all-in with pocket nines and was aghast when Buchanan called with pocket queens.

Buchanan was on the verge of crippling Williams but disaster struck when the 9 hit the flop. The set of nines overpowered Buchanan's ladies and he was out of the tournament in third.

With Buchanan went the only shot of catching Faraz Jaka in the 2010 WPT Player of the Year race.

Jaka finished the season with five WPT cashes including two final tables, although he never won one outright.

He joins Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier, Jonathan Little, J.C. Tran, Gavin Smith, Daniel Negreanu, Erick Lindgren and Howard Lederer as the only players to win WPT POY.

Play Now at Bodog Poker

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »