Wade, Seidel Headline WSOP Europe Day 7

Tristan Wade WSOP bracelet winner
After two final tables at the 2011 WSOP, Tristan Wade finally has a gold bracelet to call his own.

Day 7 of the 2011 WSOPE saw American Tristan Wade take home a much-deserved first bracelet, Erik Seidel finish strong heading into the heads-up portion of the €10k Split event and a starting field of 339 reduced to 36 on Day 1 of the €1,620 Six-Max PLO event.

Read on for details on all the action from Cannes at the 2011 WSOPE.

Wade Over Watson for €3,200 Shootout Title

After making three WSOP final tables this year, Tristan “Cre8ive” Wade has won his first gold bracelet at the 2011 WSOPE in the €3,200 No-Limit Holdem Shootout.

Starting the day second in chips, Wade had a minefield of top pros to make it through before finally knocking off former WPT champ Mike “SirWatts” Watson heads-up for the win.

The heads-up battle was a two-hour see-saw as Watson jumped out to the early lead only to see Wade gradually draw even in chips.

Once the chip stacks were close, Wade turned up the aggression even more to build a dominating chip 4-1 chip lead.

Watson doubled up to draw close again, but immediately after the two got it all in again with Wade’s J J holding over Watson’s A 5.

Wade earns €182,048 to go along with his new gold bracelet while Watson takes home €112,526 for a consolation prize.

Coming into the day virtually even in chips, all 10 players had a legitimate shot at taking home the title.

Mike Watson
Canadian Mike Watson has a WPT title but narrowly missed his first WSOP bracelet tonight in Cannes.

First to bust in 10th was John Armbrust, followed by James Dempsey, Taylor Paur, Emil Patel and Steve O’Dwyer.

Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier was next to go in fifth followed by Max Silver and Richard Toth.

Below are the final results and payouts as listed on wsop.com:

  1. Tristan Wade €182,048
  2. Michael Watson €112,526
  3. Richard Toth €84,016
  4. Max Silver €63,151
  5. Bertrand Grospelier €47,763
  6. Steve O’Dwyer €36,257
  7. Emil Patel €27,842
  8. Taylor Paur €21,459
  9. James Dempsey €16,637
  10. John Armbrust €12,981

Seidel, Mercier Loom in Final 16 of €10,400 Split Format

If there was ever two perfect examples of what can happen when you combine immense skill and a lot of run-good in poker, Erik Seidel and Jason Mercier are it.

With Seidel in the midst of one of the best years in tournament poker history and Mercier on basically a three-year heater, both are also now big stacks heading into the heads-up round of the new €10,400 Split Format event.

A brand new event making its debut at the WSOPE, the Split Format tournament is nine-handed play on Day 1, six-handed play on Day 2 and a 16-player heads-up tournament to decide the winner.

Day 2 play today saw the setting of the sweet 16. Among the notable names to make the cut are Brian Powell, Matt Waxman, Shawn Buchanan, Brian Hastings, Michael Mizrachi and Kent Lundmark.

Click here for the full list, with chip counts.

Among the big names to hit the rail today were Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, Tom Dwan, Freddy Deeb, Andrew Robl and Jonathan Duhamel.

Erik Seidel
Leading all-time live tournament money-winner Erik Seidel is looking to extend that lead tomorrow.

Mercier also almost hit the bricks today, getting it all in with deuces against Massimiliano Martinez’s pocket nines but hitting the winning set on the flop.

Due to French gaming law, players in a tournament can’t be seeded based on chip count so the heads-up draw had to be set randomly by a computer.

The matchups will be announced tomorrow before action gets underway at 3 p.m.

Click here to follow PokerListings.com’s live coverage.

Fierro Leads €1,620 Six-Max Pot-Limit Omaha

339 players registered for this year’s six-max PLO event and by the time play was halted for the night the money bubble had broke and 36 players were guaranteed to get paid.

Nicolas Fierro will enter Day 2 as chip leader.

With €498,330 in the prize pool and €124,584 waiting for the eventual winner, each of the Day 1 survivors will return to the felt tomorrow to fight for a spot at Saturday’s final table.

The list of big names to play and bust this event on Day 1 is long and it includes Daniel Negreanu, Ben Lamb, Jeff Lisandro, Barry Greenstein, Phil Hellmuth, Johnny Chan and Scotty Nguyen.

Making it through to Day 2 with a guaranteed minimum payday of €2,616 are Matt Stout, Tommy Vedes, Roberto Romanello, Bryan Devonshire, Carlos Mortensen and recent bracelet winner Steve Billirakis.

Action resumes tomorrow at 3 p.m.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »