UIGEA opposition grows by two

capital hill

Two more congressmen signed on as cosponsors to H.R. 5767, a bill to stop the implementation of the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act, this week.

On Thursday, Rep. Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii) and Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-Mass.) added their support to the bill, which was introduced April 10 by Rep. Barney Frank (D-Mass.) and Sen. Ron Paul (R-Texas).

The two congressmen introduced the bill in response to a hearing conducted by a House subcommittee in early April that discussed the UIGEA and the problems it may spawn in the banking system and in law enforcement.

The UIGEA further restricts online gambling in the United States by making money transactions intended for online gambling from banks and other financial institutions illegal.

Frank and Paul, who are both supporters of legalizing online gambling, saw the many flaws in the UIGEA that were pointed out during the hearing on the bill and determined that it is unworkable. So, they decided to jointly draft H.R. 5767 to stop the implementation of the UIGEA.

After introducing the bill in April, it had 10 more cosponsors by the end of the month, and an additional seven signed on in May.

Abercrombie isn't new to the fight against the online gambling ban. When the UIGEA was working its way through Congress, he voted against passing it when it came through the House, and he is also signed on as a supporter of Frank's bill to legalize online gambling, H.R. 2046.

However, Lynch is a convert to legalizing online gambling. He voted for the UIGEA, and though he hasn't yet added his support to H.R. 2046 to legalize online gambling, he's at least supporting stopping the UIGEA.

The other cosponsors of H.R. 5767 are:

  • Gary Ackerman (D-N.Y.)
  • Joe Baca (D-Calif.)
  • Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.)
  • Michael Capuano (D-Mass.)
  • Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.)
  • William Lacy Clay (D-Mo.)
  • Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)
  • Bob Filner (D-Calif.)
  • Charles Gonzalez (D-Texas)
  • Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.)
  • Michael Honda (D-Calif.)
  • Peter King (R-N.Y.)
  • James McGovern (D-Mass.)
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.)
  • Steven Rothman (D-N.J.)
  • Robert Wexler (D-Fla.)

Related Articles:

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »