The first annual Welsh Championship Shield announces winner

The first annual Welsh Championship Shield poker series took place this past weekend in the Grosvenor Casino Cardiff in Cardiff, Wales. Two events were hosted during the series: a £500 + £25 No-Limit Hold'em Double Chance Freezeout tournament and a £200 + £20 Pot-Limit Hold'em event boasting unlimited re-buys for 90 minutes plus one add-on. Locals and pros turned out for the inaugural main event, the £500 + £25 No-Limit Hold'em Double Chance Freezeout, which offered a first place prize of nearly £20,000.

Pro players who competed in the championship event included John Falconer, Iwan Jones, Dave Colclough, Joe Grech, Carlo Citrone, and Julian Thew. The main event began at 6 p.m. on Sunday, February 5. Each of the 106 players started with £5,000 in chips and received an additional £5,000 before level 3. The tournament boasted a total prize pool of £52,500.

Final table results are as follows:

1st E. Aris United Kingdom £19,200
2nd Julian Thew United Kingdom £9,600
3rd Tom McCreedy United Kingdom £6,000
4th Charlie Tsokolidis United Kingdom £4,080
5th M. Cavanagh United Kingdom £2,880
6th James Akenhead United Kingdom £1,920
7th Joe Grech London, U.K.£1,680
8th B. Rees United Kingdom £1,440
9th Matt Tyler United Kingdom £1,200

Spots 10 through 18 were awarded £500 each.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »