Successful Danish poker team splits

Peter Jepsen
2007 Polish Open winner Peter Willers Jepsen has decided to split up despite its enormous success since the start only one and a half years ago. The Danish poker group has won two World Poker Tour (WPT) events, one European Poker Tour (EPT) event, and reached numerous final tables.

Rehne Pedersen was the first member of to win a major title when he took home the Fourth Annual Five Diamond World Poker Classic in December 2005.

Christian Grundtvig followed up by winning the €10,000 WPT Grand Prix de Paris in June 2006, and then Peter Willer Jepsen won the first-ever EPT Polish Open in March 2007.

Despite these great achievements the group has decided to split up, but there are no hard feelings involved.

"We are still the best of friends, but there wasn't enough fuel in the engine, and that's the only reason we have decided to stop," said Rehne Pedersen.

The original group of players will go their separate ways, but the name will live on. One of the players, Frederik Hostrup, will carry the torch by forming a new team that will travel the world to play in the biggest and most prestigious poker tournaments.

These were the seven members of the original Mark Secher Petersen, Daniel Smits, Rehne Pedersen, Christian Grundtvig, Tune Seidelin, Frederik Hostrup and Peter Willers Jepsen.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »