Smyth Keeps Irish Open Title at Home

2011 Irish Open champ Niall Smyth.

Irishman Niall Smyth went wire-to-wire at the final table to win the 2011 Irish Open Monday.

The €3,500 Paddy Power Poker Irish Open 2011 drew 615 players to the Burlington Hotel in Dublin, Ireland this weekend, creating a total prizepool of €1,968,000.

Smyth, who bubbled the final table two years ago finishing 11th, rolled into Monday's final table with the chip lead and eventually beat WPT title holder and televised British poker legend Surinder Sunar to earn the title in Europe's longest running No-Limit Hold 'em tournament.

Smyth grabbed €550,000 for the win and since he was the last Paddy Power Poker qualifier standing, he earned another €100,000 through the site's Sole Survivor promotion.

Aparently, he parlayed a €200 win on a horse race into a seat in the tournament through Paddy Power Poker and now walks away a champion.

"Unbelievable. I just can't believe it," Smyth said.

"It started when I put €10 each way on the winner of the English Grand National, I won €200 and now I have €650,000. Surinder is such a great player, my support has been fantastic, and here I am!"

Heads-up with Sunar lasted almost four hours with the chip lead changing hands more than once and Smyth eventually sucking out to win.

Here's how the final table finished up:

1 Niall Smyth €550,000

2 Surinder Sunar €290,000

3 Martin Petri €180,000

4 Seamus Cahill €145,000

5 Aleksi Savela €115,000

6 Karl Rudwall €85,000

7 Rob Taylor €63,000

8 John Eames €45,000

9 Niall McCann €30,000

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »