Shorr, Lew, Bellande, Tilly Headline 2014 Spirit of Poker Awards


The nominees are in and public voting is now open for the 2014 PokerListings Spirit of Poker Awards.

Split into three categories – Rising Star, Most Inspiring Player and Living Legend - the Annual PokerListings Spirit of Poker awards were created in 2013 to recognize the players who bring joy, innovation, inspiration and timelessness to the game of poker.

The response from fans was overwhelmingly positive and so inaugural award winners Luca Moschitta, Naoya Kihara and Pierre Neuville now give way to a new crop of nominees headlined by some of the biggest – and soon-to-be-biggest - names in the game today.

Voting Open Until August 26th

In our signature award category -- Most Inspiring Player -- Shannon Shorr, Randy “nanonoko” Lew, Vicky Coren Mitchell, Philip Gruissem and perennial underdog Jean-Robert Bellande lead the nominees.

If you don't love JTilla, you don't love poker.

France's Manuel Bevand, Colombia's Mayu Roca and Italy's Mustapha Kanit round out the list.

Memorable young guns Adrian Mateos, Dominik Panka, Yngve Steen and Andrey Filatov lead our Rising Star nominees along with repeat contender Sofia Lövgren.

Highlighting our Living Legend category are the delightful Jennifer Tilly, the infamous Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott, Dan Heimiller, Thor Hansen and French poker icon Roger Hairabedian.

Find out more about each player and why he or she was nominated on our Spirit of Poker Award page.

Cast your votes right on those pages until August 26. After public voting narrows the nominee list down to three our PokerListings panel of experts will vote to determine the winner.

Official winners will be announced Sept. 5. The Spirit of Poker Awards ceremony will be held at the 2014 Battle of Malta in November.

The full list of nominees for the 2014 Spirit of Poker Awards:



Most Inspiring Player

  • Shannon Shorr
  • Randy "nanonoko" Lew
  • Vicky Coren Mitchell
  • Manuel Bevand
  • Jean-Robert Bellande
  • Phillip Gruissem
  • Mustapha Kanit
  • Mayu Roca



Rising Star Award

  • Yngve Steen
  • Anatoly Filatov
  • Dominik Panka
  • Dinesh Alt
  • Adrian Mateos
  • Filippo Lazzaretto
  • Jack Salter
  • Sofia Lövgren



Living Legend Award

  • Thor Hansen
  • Harry Casagrande
  • Konstantin Puchkov
  • Juan Maceiras Sr.
  • Dan Heimiller
  • Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott
  • Jennifer Tilly
  • Roger Hairabedian
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick