Selbst, JRB Among 10 New Big One for One Drop Additions

Vanessa Selbst

Vanessa Selbst will be breaking up the boys club at the 2014 $1 million-buy-in Big One for One Drop.

Selbst is the first female poker player to take part in the massive, potentially record-breaking tournament at this year’s World Series of Poker in Las Vegas.

She’s hardly a long-shot in the tournament either with one of the best ROIs in Super High Roller tournaments and nearly $10 million in live-tournament cashes.

Selbst was actually one of 10 more additions to the 2014 Big One for One Drop announced by the WSOP today.

Jean-Robert Bellande, Plenty of Germans in One Drop

Igor Kurganov
Igor Kurganov

The perennially-broke Jean-Robert Bellande surprised many by Tweeting a photo of himself buying into One Drop with a duffel bag full of cash earlier today.

Bellande was actually in the running to play the inaugural Big One in 2012 but had his funding fall through at the last minute. This year we’ll see if Bellande can shed the "Broke-Living" moniker for good.

Less surprising was news that a cadre of Germans will buy into the tournament including Fabian Quoss, Niklas Heinecker, Igor Kurganov, Max Altergott and Christoph Vogelsang.

The German high-stakes crew has dominated High Rollers for the last couple of years and they’d no doubt like to add an $18+ million score to their considerable achievements in poker.

Beyond the Germans, Selbst and JRB, highly skilled US grinder Anthony Gregg, who won last year’s $100k One Drop event, will also be joining this year’s festivities.

Finally the WSOP also announced that an unidentified Asian businessman would be joining the action although they won’t reveal who until this summer.

Here’s a complete list of players who have registered for this summer’s ultra-high roller event:

There are now 33 players committed to the 2014 Big One for One Drop. They are:

  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Guy Laliberté
  • Bobby Baldwin
  • David Einhorn
  • Phil Galfond
  • Philipp Gruissem
  • Phil Ivey
  • Jason Mercier
  • Paul Newey
  • Bill Perkins
  • Vivek Rajkumar
  • Brian Rast
  • Andrew Robl
  • Erik Seidel
  • Brandon Steven
  • Sam Trickett
  • Noah Schwartz
  • Tobias Reinkemeier
  • Vanessa Selbst
  • Jean-Robert Bellande
  • Fabian Quoss
  • Max Altergott
  • Anthony Gregg
  • Igor Kurganov
  • Christoph Vogelsang
  • Anonymous Asian Businessman
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Aria Resort Satellite Seat
  • Bellagio Resort Satellite Seat
  • World Series of Poker Satellite Seat
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick