Seidel Wins Biggest Buy-in Event in Poker History

2010 poker 008
Erik Seidel in action at the Aussie Millions $250k Super High Roller.

One of the game's greatest stars won the biggest buy-in tournament in poker history in Melbourne, Australia Thursday night.

Thrown together at the last minute, the Aussie Millions $250,000 buy-in Super High Roller event still managed to draw a surprising 20-player field to the Crown Casino for what would mark the largest buy-in for a poker tournament ever recorded.

Top players like Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, John Juanda, Annette Obrestad and Dan "Jungleman12" Cates all jumped at the chance to play.

But none could eliminate 2010 Poker Hall of Fame inductee and eight-time WSOP bracelet winner Erik Seidel, who won the title and $2.5 million first-place prize, catapulting into third place on poker's all-time leading money winner's list behind Daniel Negreanu and Ivey.

"I'm really, really excited to win this," Seidel said. "This is really special. It was such an elite field and the entry fee was so big. I didn't want to lose $250,000, so first of all, just to get the 250 back was nice.

"It's just so unbelievable, I'm just having such an amazing month, or year, so far. It's incredible."

Less than a week ago, Seidel finished third in the $100k high roller event at the Aussie Millions with Brit Sam Trickett booking the win.

All signs pointed to Trickett earning an amazing double as he went into the final nine holding a massive lead, knocked out the majority of the players at the final table and entered heads-up with Seidel holding a 5:1 chip lead.

But in the end, everything went Seidel's way.

"It didnt look good and it didn't feel good," said Seidel. "I was really happy I was winning a million and a half dollars and obviously I'm not laying down, so I figured I'll sit and play and hope things go well. Then they did.

"When you're playing heads up and your opponent has the best hand every hand there's really not much you can do and that's what happened. Sam gave me trouble in the last high roller. He played great and was the best player at the table. I was just very lucky tonight."

The historic event paid the top three spots.

Here's how things finished up:

1 Erik Seidel $2.5 million

2 Sam Trickett $1.5 million

3 David Benyamine $1 million

About Martin Derbyshire

Martin grew up around gaming culture spending a good portion of his high school years hustling pool in billiard halls around the City of Toronto. Saturday nights meant mixed poker games in smoky basements with the boys and a life-long love for the game ensued. His interest in the world of high stakes poker was spurred on by the success of a player Martin went to high school with who played snooker in the same pool halls around the city. That player is none other than Daniel Negreanu.

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

Comment added. Thank you!

Sean Lind 2011-01-27 20:01:20

There's something so very sick about a $5mil prize-pool with only 20 players. I agree with Tom Dwan, there should be five of these a year.