Seidel, Seed, Mercier Headline Epic Poker Final Table

Erik Seidel
Erik Seidel is looking to extend his lead as poker's all-time tournament money winner.

The inaugural final table of the Epic Poker League has been set and in terms of star power, the event has more than lived up to its name.

Erik Seidel, Huck Seed, Jason Mercier, Hasan Habib, Gavin Smith and Chino Rheem make up the first ever EPL main event final table.

Between them they have $44.98 million in career tournament earnings and 16 World Series of Poker gold bracelets.

Each of the final six is guaranteed at least $107,980 with $1 million and the EPL title on the table for the eventual winner.

Day 3 saw all 18 players who got paid in this event return to the felt to fight for a spot in today’s finale. Among the eliminated who walked away with a cash payout were Pro/Am qualifiers Brandon Meyers and Dan Fleyshman.

As evidenced by the statistics above, each of the final six players already have major titles to their credit.

Erik Seidel leads the pack in terms of credentials as poker’s number one all-time tournament money winner with over $16 million in earnings.

He’s also got eight WSOP gold bracelets and a WPT major under his belt.

Jason Mercier is among the top few winners of the last few years, having earned $6.35 million since 2008, along with two WSOP bracelets, an EPT title and a slew of other notable wins. Mercier also has significant online poker earnings.

Huck Seed won the WSOP Main Event in 1996 and has put together $7.15 million in earnings in a career that’s spanned more than two decades.

Hasan Habib has been playing tournament poker for almost 20 years and in that time he’s earned almost $5.2 million. He’s got a WSOP bracelet and has made three WPT final tables, including a second place finish at the $25k WPT Championship.

Gavin Smith is one of the most successful Canadian players in the game with $5.6 million in earnings, one WSOP bracelet and a win on the World Poker Tour.

David “Chino” Rheem made the final table of the 2008 WSOP Main Event as well as winning the WPT Five Diamond Classic the same year.

Action in the inaugural Epic Poker League main event continues at the Palms Casino in Las Vegas today as we play down to a winner.

Here are the final table chip counts.

  • 1        Hasan Habib             1,655,000
  • 2        Jason Mercier         1,495,000
  • 3        Chino Rheem          1,432,000
  • 4        Erik Seidel                 1,109,000
  • 5        Gavin Smith             766,000
  • 6        Huck Seed               396,000

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »