PokerStars WCoP heads to the Bahamas

Greg Raymer
Greg Raymer: 2008 WCoP winning team captain.

After weeks of online qualifying tournaments, the PokerStars World Cup of Poker has its nine teams ready to take to the felt on the fifth of this month.

Its unique format means the WCoP is a team-based tournament using a "team score round" system to determine a winner. In this round of play, there are five single-table tournaments played, each with one player from each of the nine teams. Teams score points depending on what place each player finishes in on their table of play.

Position Points
1 20
2 15
3 11
4 8
5 6
6 4
7 3
8 2
9 1

The team finishing with the most combined points take home the first-place prize of $100,000 (split evenly among all five players on a team) and the prestigious trophy and bragging rights that go along with winning the World Cup of Poker.


Each team is made up of four qualifying online players and one the action.


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »