Poker Hand Rankings

Seven Card Stud

Not sure what beats what in poker?

Check below for a list of all poker hands ranked from best to worst. These are standard for all poker sites.

Answers to some of the most frequently asked poker hand ranking questions can be found below the list.

Still confused after? Drop a question in the comments and someone will more than likely sort you out.

 Poker Hands from Highest to Lowest

Royal Flush       

A straight from a ten to an ace with all five cards of the same suit. In poker all suits are ranked equally.

Straight Flush       

Any straight with all five cards of the same suit.

Four of a Kind       

Any four cards of the same rank. If two players share the same Four of a Kind (on the board), the bigger fifth card (the "kicker") decides who wins the pot.

Full House       

Any three cards of the same rank together with any two cards of the same rank. Our example shows "Aces full of Kings" and it is a bigger full house than "Kings full of Aces."

Flush       

Any five cards of the same suit (not consecutive). The highest card of the five determines the rank of the flush. Our example shows an Ace-high flush, which is the highest possible.

Straight       

Any five consecutive cards of different suits. Aces can count as either a high or a low card. Our example shows a five-high straight, which is the lowest possible straight.

Three of a Kind       

Any three cards of the same rank. Our example shows three-of-a-kind Aces, with a King and a Queen as side cards - the best possible three of a kind.

Two Pair       

Any two cards of the same rank together with another two cards of the same rank. Our example shows the best possible two-pair, Aces and Kings. The highest pair of the two determines the rank of the two-pair.

One Pair       

Any two cards of the same rank. Our example shows the best possible one-pair hand.

High Card       

Any hand not in the above-mentioned hands. Our example shows the best possible high-card hand.

Poker Hands Rankings Explained

Poker Hand Rankings FAQ

Does a straight beat a flush?

No. This is one of the most common misconceptions in poker. In reality a flush (five cards of the same suit) always beats a straight (five cards in a numeric sequence). A straight-flush, which is five cards of the same suit in consecutive order, beats both hands.

 

What’s better -- Two Pair or Three of a Kind?

Three-of-a-kind always beats two-pair. The only “made” poker hand that two-pair beats is one pair. 

 

Does “All Reds” or “All Blacks” beat a straight?

“All Reds” or “All Blacks” doesn’t beat/mean anything in poker. To make a flush in poker you have to have five cards of the same SUIT. That means five spades, hearts, clubs or diamonds. Having all one color is not a poker hand.

 

Does it matter if I have higher flush cards?

It does. In No-Limit Hold’em if you have a flush with an ace as the highest card and your opponent has a flush with a king as the high card, you win. The easiest way to understand who wins is to lay out your complete five-card hand and compare it with your opponent’s hand. If anyone has a higher card, that person wins (obviously you both share the cards on the board).

 

Which suit is ranked the highest?

In poker, suits don’t count. Spades aren’t better than hearts, clubs aren’t higher than diamonds, etc. If you have the same hand as your opponent but in different suits then you simply split the pot. This misconception is from other games where suits do matter.

 

What do I beat if I have 3 Pairs?

Absolutely nothing. You just use your two highest pairs. There is no such thing as “3-pair” in poker.

 

Is there a difference between Trips and a Set? Which is better?

Trips and a set are the same hand: Three-of-a-kind. The difference is how you acquire three-of-a-kind. A set is made when your pocket pair hits one card on the board.

Trips are made when you utilize two cards on the board and one in your hand to make three-of-a-kind. Because they are much easier to conceal when betting, sets are generally considered the better hand.

 

Play the Best Free-rolls to Build your Bankroll

 

What if there’s a straight on the board?

You chop the pot. That’s provided that no player has a better hand (flush or higher) or someone has a higher straight using the cards in their hand. 

 

What’s a Four-Flush?

A four-flush is when you use four cards of the same suit on the board and one from your hand to complete a flush. It’s worth noting this is one of the key differences between No-Limit Hold’em and Pot-Limit Omaha. In PLO you have to use two of your cards so you can’t have a four-flush.

 

What if I have the same pair as my opponent?

Once again you chop the pot. Pocket aces versus pocket aces generally means you have a split pot (unless someone is fortunate enough to hit a four-flush on the board).

 

Can you make a Straight with 4-3-2-A-K?

No. While the ace can make both the lowest straight (A-2-3-4-5) and the highest straight (A-K-Q-J-10) it can’t wrap around.

 

Does my 3-3-3-A-A Full House beat my opponent’s 8-8-8-K-K?

Nope. When it comes to full houses the highest of the three-of-a-kinds determines the winner. In the example above the full house with three 8s tops the full house with three 3s.

 

Who wins with Four-of-a-Kind on the board?

The player with the highest kicker. For instance if the board is 8-8-8-8-5, you have A-K and your opponent has K-Q, you win. (Your best five-card hand is 8-8-8-8-A, his is 8-8-8-8-K). If the board was 8-8-8-8-A you’d split the pot as the best five-card hand for both of you is 8-8-8-8-A.

 

What’s the difference Between Four-of-a-Kind and “Quads”?

Nothing. They’re exactly the same hand.

 

Get the Best Poker Bonus to Play Poker Online

 

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

Sean Lind 2010-01-01 22:05:11

Justin,

There are no kickers for flushes? What cards did you both have?

Stunned 2010-01-01 01:35:56

K and Q hearts
10 Diamonds
9 & J of Diamonds (off suit)

Does 3 10's off suit beat this hand?

jusitn 2009-12-31 09:17:28

if i have a flush with an ace kicker and the oppenent has a flush with a ten kicker who wins?

Sean Lind 2009-12-30 19:05:30

yooblonder,

Yes, as long as you just turn the cards over, you'll win (with the winning hand). You need to show both cards to win, but you don't need to say anything. Words are just words, cards speak for themselves.

yooblonder 2009-12-30 00:08:19

Re Sam's question and Sean Lind's reply...

What happens if a player doesn't declare their second card initially? Can that one be used later to win or is it too late?

Sean Lind 2009-12-28 18:26:36

Sam,

Despite what the other people have said in reply, the first player in your example (with queens and eights) wins the pot.

The rule here is known as "Cards Speak". It doesn't matter what you say you have, it only matters what your cards show you having. JJ55 had a worse hand, so he loses the pot.

It is against the rules to knowingly mis-declare your hand at showdown, but the game does not punish players for an honest mistake (or outright stupidity). People will be upset with you for the verbal slow roll, but it's not going to cost you the hand.

That is unless you say what you think you have, then muck your hand. If you don't turn over your hand at showdown, you can't win.

In short, Cards Speak, and the cards don't lie. If you show your hand, your hand is rated on the value of your cards, not on what you think or say.

Sean Lind 2009-12-28 18:22:14

Matei,

I'm sorry, but the only reason I can think of for A4 beating JJ is the A4 either his a pair of Aces, or the hand hit a straight.

I've never seen Full Tilt make a mistake at showdown, and would be extremely surprised if I ever did.

Ace High 2009-12-26 09:22:03

What you declare is what counts. You can't claim a higher hand if you declare low. Gotta be careful. I saw half a million $ lost a guy declared pair of aces and missed the pair of 2's in the middle. the other guy had pair of sixes and the two's in the middle. Finished. Aces lost.

Poker-Mon 2009-12-25 23:40:17

If you declare the wrong thing then you lose even if you had four aces and you declare "two pairs" and the other player has three somethings you lose because you didn't declare FOUR aces.

You gotta pay attention in poker all the way through from start to finish especially the finish.

Bill One-Eye 2009-12-25 23:33:46

Absoltely...whatever you declare stands. Declare wrong and you lose. Simple. Make sureyou declare right then you'll win otherwise you lose!

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick