Poker Amateur Wins Second German Bracelet of 2013 WSOP

Nikolaus Teichert
Nikolaus Teichert

Recreational poker player Nikolaus Tiechart reached the pinnacle of poker earlier today by winning his first gold bracelet and $730,736.

The German outlasted an enormous 1,736 to win Event 56 $2,500 No-Limit Hold’em at the 2013 WSOP.

To say Tiechart was delighted by the outcome of the tournament would be an understatement.

“This is the greatest day of my life,” said an emotional Tiechart. “The bracelet, for me, is a dream.”

Tiechert Plays WSOP Tournaments 'Just for Fun'

Josh Arieh
Formerly retired Josh Arieh placed fifth.

Tiechert, who is a retired investor from Düsseldorf, beat a final table that included noted pros Josh Arieh and Nicolas Levi. They represented a marked contrast to Tiechart.

“I’m not a pro,” he said. “I just go to tournaments for fun.”

Tiechert got into poker a few years ago when he final tabled the first event he ever played. A year later he won the same tournament for €12,000 and that cash would be the start of his bankroll.

He's played on the WPT and EPT but this represents by far the biggest score of poker career.

Event 56 was one of the many tournaments at the WSOP this summer that required overtime.

After playing for 10 levels last night, Tiechert and American Vincent Maglio were locked in a heads-up battle with Tiechert holding a slight chip advantage.

Originally scheduled for three days, the decision was made to extend the tournament for an extra day. Tiechart returned today and finished off Maglio in less than an hour.

Tiechert may not be a pro, but out of all the talented German players, he’s the one that gave Germany two bracelets this summer. Germany joins Belgium, Canada and the USA as the four countries that have won multiple bracelets this summer.

Here are the complete final-table payouts for Event 56:

  • 1st: Nikolaus Teichert - $730,736
  • 2nd: Vincent Maglio - $452,008
  • 3rd: Dan Owen - $312,516
  • 4th: Sergey Lebedev - $225,392
  • 5th: Josh Arieh - $164,768
  • 6th: Kirill Rabtsov - $122,036
  • 7th: Nicolas Faure - $91,586
  • 8th: Sebastien Comel - $69,627
  • 9th: Nicolas Levi - $53,593
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick