Phil Ivey wins Monte Carlo Millions

Phil Ivey won first place and $1 million at the Monte Carlo Millions poker tournament in Monte Carlo, Monaco yesterday.

Hyped as the world's most exclusive poker tournament, the Monte Carlo Millions took place between November 20-23 and boasted a guaranteed prize pool of $2,773,000 and a buy-in of $25,000.

Only in its second year, the tournament event was run by 2005 World Series of Poker tournament director Matt Savage and hosted the Monte Carlo Millions Gold-2nd Chance Tournament for all players who did not reach the final table.

Players competed for a $267,000 prize pool (based on 120 original players), and seat 7 at final table. The tournament was held before the final table began, and was won by pro player John Juanda who went on to collect a prize of $100,000 and his seat at the final table.

Out of the 112 competitors, pro players took a majority of the ranks. Famous faces who participated in the event include Ivey, Bengt Sonnert, John Juanda, Joe Beevers, Andy Bloch, Al Ardebili, Phil Hellmuth, Kathy Liebert, Joe Cassidy, Scott Fischman, Gus Hansen, Juha Helppi, John Duthie, Erik Seidel, Carlos Mortensen, Howard Lederer, Ross Boatman, Barny Boatman, Jennifer Tilly, Martin De Knijff, Andrew Black, Devilfish Ulliott, Ted Forrest, Antonio Esfandiari, Harry Demetriou, and defending champion Jani Sointula.

Final table results are as follows:

1st Phil Ivey $1,000,000
2nd Paul Jackson $600,000
3rd Marc Goodwin $325,000
4th Bengt Sonnert $250,000
5th Richard Herbert $175,000
6th John Juanda $125,000
6th Kenna James $100,000

Please see for further details.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »