Newhouse, Colman, Effel Head Nominees for American Poker Awards

Mark Newhouse
Mark Newhouse.

Back-to-back WSOP final-tablist Mark Newhouse, $22m tournament crusher Dan Colman and WSOP TD Jack Effel are among the nominees announced today for the first-ever GPI American Poker Awards.

Mohsin Charania, Mukul Pahuja, Tournament Director Matt Savage, WPT President Adam Pliska, Jason Somerville and All In Magazine are also among the contenders for the awards, set to be handed out February 27 in Beverly Hills.

A panel of 60 industry members were solicited by the Global Poker Index in 2014 for nominees in nine categories.

Categories include Tournament Performance of the Year, Breakout Performance of the Year, Event of the Year and "Industry Person" of the Year among others.

A jury panel, still to be determined, will decide the winners on the morning of the ceremony. The full list of nominees and categories:

Tournament Performance of the Year

  • Moshin Charania, WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic winner
  • Daniel Colman, Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Main Event winner
  • Darren Elias, WPT Borgata Poker Open winner
  • Mark Newhouse, WSOP Main Event, 9th place finisher 

Breakout Player of the Year

  • Daniel Colman
  • Mukul Pahuja
  • Jake Schindler 
  • Brandon Shack-Harris

Event of the Year (Buy-In Over $2,000)

  • Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Main Event (Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, Hollywood)
  • WPT Montreal (Playground Poker Club, Montreal)
  • WPT World Championship (Borgata, Atlantic City)
  • World Series of Poker Main Event (Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas)

Event of the Year (Buy-In up to $2,000)

  • HPT Cal State Poker Championship (Commerce Casino, Los Angeles)
  • WPT500 at ARIA (ARIA Resort & Casino, Las Vegas)
  • WSOP Millionaire Maker (Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas)
  • WSOP Monster Stack (Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas)

Industry Person of the Year

4466 Jack Effel2
WSOP TD Jack Effel

  • Jack Effel, WSOP Tournament Director
  • Adam Pliska, WPT President
  • Matt Savage, WPT Executive Director & TDA Founder
  • Ty Stewart, WSOP Executive Director

Poker Media Content of the Year

  • ALL IN Magazine: Mark Newhouse
  • Brad Willis, WSOP 2014: Stages/Never stop fighting for PokerStars Blog
  • PokerNews Live Reporting at the 45th WSOP
  • Jason Somerville for Run it UP!

Charitable Initiative of the Year

  • “All In” for Kids Poker Tournament presented by CHOP and the WPT Foundation
  • Charity Series of Poker
  • REG (Raising for Effective Giving)
  • WSOP One Drop partnership

Poker Innovation or Initiative of the Year

  • Poker Night in America
  • Twitch opens its doors to live streaming poker
  • WPT successful partnerships with DeepStacks, Hublot, DraftKings, Monster
  • WSOP Monster Stack event

Media Person of the Year

  • Nolan Dalla
  • Chris Grove
  • Kevin Mathers
  • Rich Ryan

Player of the Year, Female Player of the Year and American and Canadian National Players of the Year have already been determined by the Global Poker Index's ranking formula.

Voting is also open to the public for the Best Poker Ambassador. Vote here.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick