Negreanu, Fitoussi, Forrest Head New Hall of Fame Nominees

No one's getting in before Negreanu this year.

Daniel Negreanu heads the list of 2014 finalists for the Poker Hall of Fame, the WSOP announced today.

After a public nomination and voting process on the 10 finalists for 2014 have now been picked and vetted with Negreanu clearly the star and surefire lock for induction.

The 2004 and 2013 World Series of Poker Player of the Year, Negreanu claimed over $8m for finishing second in this year's $1m Big One for One Drop to move him into first overall on poker's all-time money list.

Turning 40 this year made Negreanu eligible for the Hall of Fame for the first time and an unquestionable first-ballot inductee.

Fitoussi, Forrest New; Harman and Matusow Return

Among the 10 finalists are five new nominees and five returnees.

Bruno Fitoussi
Fitoussi: French poker boss.

French poker icon Bruno Fitoussi is perhaps the most notable of the first-time nominees, as he has maybe the best shot to be the first European to enter the Hall of Fame.

Long-time pro Ted Forrest, Texas Road Gambler Bob Hooks and Tournament Director Jack McClelland round out the new five.

Jennifer Harman, Huck Seed, Mike "The Mouth" Matusow, Humberto Brenes and Chris Bjorin return to the ballot from last year. The complete list of 2014 nominees:

  • Chris Bjorin
  • Humberto Brenes
  • Bruno Fitoussi
  • Ted Forrest
  • Jen Harman
  • Bon Hooks
  • Mike Matusow
  • Jack McClelland
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Huckleberry Seed

The 21 living Hall of Fame members and a 20-person media panel will vote on the nominees later this month. Primary criteria for induction are:

  • Must have played against acknowledged top competition
  • Must be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • For non-players: contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker with indelible positive and lasting results.

For a full breakdown of all the nominees and their lifetime achievements, check here.

The 2014 Poker Hall of Fame Class of up to 2 players will be inducted as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities on Sunday, November 9.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick