Mizzi, Balsiger, Seiver to Star in 2014 Aussie Millions Final Table

Jake Balsiger
Jake Balsiger

The final table of the 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event is set and Sorel Mizzi, Jake Balsiger and Scott Seiver each have a shot at adding a huge title to their already illustrious poker careers.

Canadian online whiz Ami Barer leads the final seven with 6.5 million chips while Mizzi (2.8 million) and Balsiger (2.3 million) find themselves in the middle of the pack. Seiver is fighting from the short stack with 855,000.

The final table is rounded out by Americans Vincent Rubianes and Darren Rabinowitz. Andrew Phaedonos is the only Australian to make the final table.

Raymond Wu, Liv Boeree, Jonathan Duhamel and John Juanda all fell to the rail early on Day 4 as the field was reduced from 36 players to just seven.

Meanwhile Jason Mercier, Erik Seidel and Eoghan O’Dea faltered in the latter stages of the day with O’Dea bubbling the final table.

All the remaining players in the Aussie Millions Main Event now have a day off with the final table set to take place on Sunday local time.

Here’s a look at the final-table chip counts:

  • Ami Barer – 6,570,000
  • Vincent Rubianes – 3,865,000
  • Sorel Mizzi – 2,830,000
  • Jake Balsiger – 2,385,000
  • Darren Rabinowitz – 2,365,000
  • Andrew Phaedonas – 1,015,000
  • Scott Seiver – 855,000

McDonald, Ivey, Dwan in Top 10 of Massive $100k Challenge

Phil Ivey
The gang's all here.

The $100k Super High Roller at the Aussie Millions threatened to eclipse the prizepool of the Main Event yesterday thanks to a startlingly large field.

There were a total of 66 entries on Day 1 of $100k buy-in tournament with Mike McDonald scoring the overnight chip lead with 468,500 while poker megastars Antonio Esfandiari, Phil Ivey and Tom Dwan all finished in the top 10.

Incredibly Daniel Negreanu and Isaac Haxton both re-bought five times in the tournament. It didn’t help Haxton as he busted before the day ended while Negreanu finished with 221,500.

There’s no doubt this event will be one of the biggest super high rollers ever played as the prizepool currently sits at 6.6 million with registration still open tomorrow.

Here are the top 10 chip counts at the end of play:

  • Mike McDonald – 468,500
  • Paul Newey – 428,500
  • Richard Yong – 379,500
  • Antonio Esfandiari – 364,000
  • Phil Ivey – 341,500
  • Tom Dwan – 323,000
  • Igor Kurganov – 310,000
  • Winfred Yu – 301,000
  • Max Altergott – 288,800
  • Paul Phau – 274,000
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick