Mike McDonald Eyes 2nd EPT Title After 2014 PCA Day 4

Mike McDonald
Mike "Timex" McDonald

Mike “Timex” McDonald emerged as a serious threat to become the first-ever two-time EPT title winner on Day 4 of the 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event.

The 24-year-old Canadian finished the day second in chips with 3.4 million and 20 players remaining. The only player with more chips than McDonald is Estonian Madis Muur with 3.5 million.

McDonald was just 18 years old when he won EPT Dortmund for $1.3 million in 2008. Since then he’s won hundreds of thousands of dollars playing live poker and even “retired” from the game for a while.

There are several compelling storylines in the final 20 with Max Silver, Antoine Saout, Pascal Lefrancois, Isaac Baron and Grayson Ramage all in the hunt for the title and $1.8 million.

Vanessa Selbst, Jennifer Shahade, Loni Harwood Hit the Rail

Jennifer Shahade
Jennifer Shahade finished 31st.

For a period of time it appeared we might have a strong contingent of female poker players survive with Liv Boeree, Jennifer Shahade, Vanessa Selbst and Loni Harwood all looking strong at various points.

Instead all four players were eliminated with recent bracelet-winner Harwood snagging herself last woman standing honors.

Chris Klodnicki, Ty Reiman, Marcel Luske, Matt Stout, Angel Guillen, Marc-Andre Ladouceur, Daniel Weinman were also among the players who fell out contention on Day 4.

Roger Teska, who ruffled some feathers yesterday when he gave the middle finger to one of the TV cameras, continued his antics on Day 4.

In the last few hands of play Teska lost a massive pot to Madis Muur and then just decided to leave the tournament floor before play came to a close.

“Someone bag my chips, I’m done,” said Teska to tournament staff as he exited the room.

Day 5 of the 2014 PCA begins at 12 p.m. with the last 20 set to play down to a final table of eight. Catch all the action on the live stream right here on PokerListings.com.

Here are the complete chip counts at the end of play:

  • 1. Madis Muur - 3,515,000
  • 2. Mike McDonald - 3,432,000
  • 3. Antoine Saout - 2,432,000
  • 4. Pascal Lefrancois - 2,401,000
  • 5. Max Silver - 2,359,000
  • 6. Shyam Srinivasan - 2,129,000
  • 7. Fabian Ortiz - 2,000,000
  • 8. Isaac Baron - 1,556,000
  • 9. Daniel Alcazar - 1,494,000
  • 10. Dominik Panka - 1,474,000
  • 11. Thomas Hall - 1,241,000
  • 12. Jorgen Sandvoll Lindebo - 1,097,000
  • 13. Allon Allison - 1,000,000
  • 14. Pal Zsibrita - 907,000
  • 15. Adrian Bussman - 898,000
  • 16. Roger Teska - 874,000
  • 17. Grayson Ramage - 571,000
  • 18. Kyle Sorel - 528,000
  • 19. Robert Auer - 522,000
  • 20. Fabio Freitas - 231,000

You May Also Like


Colman Ships SHRPO Main Event for $1.4m, Tops $20m for 2014

One of the most absurdly successful years in poker history just got a bit more absurd tonight as Dan Colman shipped the Seminole Hard Rock Poker...(25)

03 September 2014

Schindler Snags $100k SHRPO Title, Colman in Final 6 of $10m Main

A big week of poker in South Florida is winding to a close with Jake Schindler laying claim to the $100k High Roller title while Dan...(25)

03 September 2014

Beijing Millions Shatters Records, Tasmanians Love Poker

A record-setting tournament in Beijing and a surprisingly busy event in Tasmania highlighted another week of tournament poker.(25)

05 August 2014

Ortiz Dominates LAPT Panama, Hungarian Tops MicroMillions 8

Argentinian Fabian Ortiz made history on the LAPT while the French dominated WPT National Brussels and a Hungarian made over $100k from MicroMillions 8 this...(25)

28 July 2014

Please fill the required fields correctly!

Error saving comment!

You need to wait 3 minutes before posting another comment.

Comment added. Thank you!

No Comments