Mercier Books Back-To-Back of His Own at NAPT Mohegan Bounty Shootout

Jason Mercier
2010 and 2011 NAPT Mohegan Sun Bounty Shootout champ Jason Mercier.

Not only is the Mohegan Sun the only original stop left on the fledgling North American Poker Tour, but it appears the event is strangely incapable of producing new champions.

Incredibly, one day after Vanessa Selbst succesfully repeated as NAPT Mohegan Sun main event champion, fellow Team PokerStars Pro Jason Mercier did the same in the $10,000+$300 NAPT Bounty Shootout.

Mercier, who has torn up the poker circuit to the tune of $5.3 million in earnings since becoming a pro in 2008, added another $246,600 in prize money with the historic win, joining Selbest as the only other player with two NAPT titles.

He collected $142,600 for winning the final shootout table; $40,000 for winning his preliminary table; $14,000 for collecting seven preliminary bounties; $30,000 for three final table bounties; and $20,000 for winning the overall bounty prize.

He also earned a seat in the next NAPT Bounty Shootout, the location of which has yet to be determined.

In poker's modern era, the notion of a repeat champion is almost unheard of.

But when Mercier beat newly minted Team PokerStars Pro Eugene Katchalov heads-up, leaving him with $68,000 in prize money, he became the second player to do so at Mohegan Sun in as many days.

While PokerStars now claims the longstanding PokerStars Caribbean Adventure as part of the North American Poker Tour, the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Connecticut and the Bicycle Casino in Los Angeles were the only two original stops in the NAPT's first season last year.

In February, PokerStars and the NAPT pulled sponsorhip from its return to L.A. to avoid the ire of California gaming officials, leaving the Mohegan Sun as the only other stop on the NAPT.

This year's Mohegan Sun Bounty Shootout attracted 78 players, generating a $780,000 prizepool.

Here's how the final table finished up:

1 Jason Mercier $246,600

2 Eugene Katchalov $68,000

3 Michael Pesek $70,000

4 Jonathan Jaffe $54,000

5 Taylor von Kriegenbergh $44,000

6 Jimmie Guinther $42,000

7 Scott Blackman $44,000

8 Micah Raskin $46,000

9 Joe Sweeney $52,000

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »