Matusow, Seed, Mortensen Join Hall of Fame Finalists

Mike Matusow
Mike Matusow: Slowroll hater, HOF nominee.

Ten names have made the final cut for 2013 Poker Hall of Fame induction with newcomers Mike "The Mouth" Matusow, Huck Seed and Carlos Mortensen among the finalists.

Based on a public nomination process via and a final vetting by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council, the finalists eligible in 2013 have now been officially set.

Six of the candidates made the final nomination list last year but failed to accumulate enough votes from current living Hall of Famers and a media panel to make it in.

Huck Seed
Second-time lucky for Seed?

The 2013 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists List (alphabetically):

  • Chris Björin
  • Humberto Brenes
  • David Chiu
  • Thor Hansen
  • Jennifer Harman
  • Mike Matusow
  • Tom McEvoy
  • Carlos Mortensen
  • Scotty Nguyen
  • Huckleberry Seed

Matusow, Seed, Mortensen and Brenes are the new additions to the list while Chiu, Björin, Hansen, Harman, McEvoy and Nguyen were on the list last year. Seed made the finalist list once before in 2011.

The above list will be passed on to the 19 living Hall of Fame members and the 18-person media panel for voting, which ends Oct. 11.

A reminder of the induction criteria:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Recent Poker Hall of Fame inductees include Eric Drache, Brian "Sailor" Roberts, Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson. For more on the current nominees, find brief bios here.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick