Lee “Final Table” Nelson Wins Again in Melbourne

Lee Nelson

Already number one on the All Time Money List for New Zealand, Lee Nelson stretched his lead even further with another win last night at ANZPT Melbourne.

Nelson outlasted 310 runners in the latest Australia New Zealand Poker Tour event at the Crown Casino to take the title and $156,550, boosting his lifetime live tournament earnings to $2.4 million.

The field was predominately local with about 100 PokerStars online qualifiers plus a few known pros scattered throughout the tables.

Nelson, Hong Kong-based high-roller specialist David Steicke, UK pro Harry Demetriou and PokerStars Team Asia Pro Celina Lin were among the bigger name players to buy in.

Nelson came into the final day third in chips and lived up to his “Final Table” nickname easily, surviving the final two eliminations needed to make the official final table.

By the time the dinner break arrived Nelson had a 3-1 chip lead over his nearest opponent, busting Phil Willcocks shortly before the break with two big back-to-back hands to push his stack over 3 million in chips.

From there it was a relatively easy cruise to the title, with Nelson flopping a flush on the final hand to seal the deal after getting all-in with JT of hearts versus pocket fours.

Fifth-place finisher Willcocks, also from New Zealand, added $34,100 to his $348k lifetime earnings to move him up to fifth on the all-time NZ list.

Second-place on the NZ money-winners list is Simon Watt, who sits well back of Nelson with $865k.

Along with being New Zealand’s all-time leading money winner and a PokerStars pro, Nelson is a retired doctor, co-author of three poker books including the Kill Phil series and a specialist in nutrition and wellness.

He just recently built and opened an oceanfront wellness retreat in Abel Tasman National Park in New Zealand.

Melbourne was also the home of Nelson’s biggest live tournament win to date, the 2006 Aussie Millions championship, which earned him over $1.2 million.

The rest of the final table results and payouts:

1. Lee Nelson (New Zealand) - $156,550
2. Nick Georgoulas (Australia) - $99,200
3. Danny Chevalier (Australia) - $55,180
4. Karan Punjabi (Australia) - $43,090
5. Phil Willcocks (New Zealand) - $34,100
6. Tom Wing (Australia) - $27,900
7. Stephen Eliesen (Australia) - $22,320
8. Brett Chalhoub (Australia) - $17,670
9. Justin Sanchez (Australia) - $13,020

For a full replay of the action, visit the Poker Stars blog.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »