Ladbrokes Poker ELC kicks off

Annette Obrestad
Annette Obrestad, with a mountain of chips.

With the cameras starting to roll today in London, the Ladbrokes European Ladies Championship has begun its third season, this time with 50 of Europe's top female players.

The two-day MTT will works its way down to one final winner who will be crowned "European Champion," winning herself a guaranteed first prize of $30,000. As an added bonus, the highest-placing qualifier will also receive a $14,000 WSOP Package.


The lineup includes such as names as WSOPE winner Annette Obrestad, Bev Pace, Louise Duffy, Katherine Hartree, last year's winner Jackie Meecham, poker journalist Shelley Rubenstein and the poker world's newest recruit, Abi Titmuss.

The tournament will be broadcast on Sky Sports, edited down as six one-hour shows.

Payout Structure

ELC 2008 will have a $100,000 prize pool guaranteed by Ladbrokes Poker, which will be shared among the top eight finishers who make it to the final table:

  • 1st - $30,000
  • 2nd - $20,000
  • 3rd - $16,000
  • 4th - $12,000
  • 5th - $10,000
  • 6th - $6,000
  • 7th - $4,000
  • 8th - $2,000

Terms and Conditions

A complete list of terms and conditions can be found on the Ladbrokes Poker page, under the ELC 2008 category.

Some of the terms and conditions include:

  • Participation in this promotion is restricted to female players only.
  • The minimum age limit for entry to the tournament is 18.
  • The Tournament Director shall have absolute discretion to remove any logo, image or words on the players' clothing and apparel which in the opinion of the Tournament Director contravenes ITC regulations or the requirements of BSkyB.
  • Any player who wins a seat in the televised stages of the tournament has the right not to participate, but there is no cash alternative. In this instance, Ladbrokes will usually pick the runner-up as the replacement, subject to their total discretion.

Related Articles

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »