Jewell Crowned as WSOPC Hammond Champ

William Reynolds
William Reynolds finished in third place at the WSOPC Hammond main event.

Kentucky-based poker pro Kurt Jewell beat an intriguing final table that included Will Reynolds and Bryan Devonshire to win the WSOPC Hammond main event last night.

He had to overcome the biggest field in WSOPC main event history to claim the first place prize of $242k. A total of 872 players bought into the $1,500 buy-in tournament on Friday.

Jewell entered the final table as the massive chip leader with $6 million chips and despite losing the chip lead for a brief period never lost sight of the ultimate prize.

UB Poker Pro Bryan Devonshire was one of the shortest stacks at the final table but made it to seven-handed play where his pocket kings were cruelly cracked by an opponent’s 8-2. Devonshire took $37k for his efforts.

PCA High Roller winner Will Reynolds was perhaps Jewell’s greatest threat at the final table but was eventually ousted in third place. Jewell beat him with A-6 versus A-4. Reynolds won $110k.

Heads-up play between Jared Kenworthy and Jewell lasted close to an hour but Jewell’s victory from that point never seemed to be in doubt.

Finally Jewell managed to hit an important river card while holding Q-J to claim the WSOPC Hammond main event title.

There is one final event to go in Chicago as the very first Regional Championship is set to begin at 12 p.m. today.

Bernard Lee, Matt Stout, Chad Brown, Jason Mercier and Barry Greenstein are all expected to play in the televised $10,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em tournament.

Here’s a look at the payouts from the WSOPC Hammond main event final table:

1. Kurt Jewell - $242,909
2. Jared Kenworthy - $150,104
3. William Reynolds - $110,567
4. Edwin Choi - $82,414
5. Nick Jivkov - $62,384
6. Corey Souther - $47,772
7. Bryan Devonshire - $37,047
8. Daniel Cohen - $29,087
9. Casey Hayes - $23,120

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »