Jesse Hale dives into WSOP Circuit win

Jesse Hale

As a skydiving instructor, Jesse Hale knows how to laugh in the face of fear.

And apparently he knows how to laugh in the face of tough competition as well, as he joked and talked his way to winning the World Series of Poker Circuit championship event in Council Bluffs.

Hale topped a field of 67 players who put up the $5,150 buy-in for the final event of the WSOPC series at the Horseshoe Casino. It wasn't what he had intended to do with his trip to the casino, but playing in the WSOPC paid off big for Hale.

He had actually headed to the Horseshoe to play some blackjack. After his success at the tables, Hale decided to try his hand in the WSOPC tournaments. He came in second in the Pot-Limit Omaha event and was having to dive back and forth between the final table and playing in Day 1 of the main event.

It paid off for him. Hale made the final table of the championship event as well, where he made a deal when play was down to three-handed and then went on to win the remaining $10,000 WSOP Main Event seat as well.

The final-table results were:

Place Name Hometown Prize
1st Jesse Hale Houston $113,020
2nd Dennis Meierotto Kansas City, Mo. $63,790
3rd John McDonald Marshall, Minn. $34,535
4th Evan Panesis Overland Park, Kansas $25,116
5th Joaquin Sosa Chicago $21,977
6th Alan Engel Las Vegas $18,837
7th Jeff Banghart Bennington, Neb. $15,698
8th Jeff Bryan Fort Calhoun, Neb. $12,558
9th Jeff Daubs Plattsburgh, N.Y. $9,419

This year the WSOPC Council Bluffs took place Feb. 12-25 and included 18 events. The winners of the other events are:

  • Event 1: Jeff Banghart
  • Event 2: Mike Sinnott
  • Event 3: Matthew McCartney
  • Event 4: Larry Nichols
  • Event 5: Toni Haggard
  • Event 6: Drazen Ilich
  • Event 7: Jeff Wiemers
  • Event 8: Thomas Culberson
  • Event 9: Bill Short
  • Event 10: Lee Patitz
  • Event 11: Kelly Vande Mheen
  • Event 12: David Grandstaff
  • Event 13: Brian Scobee
  • Event 14: William Burdick
  • Event 15: Joe Rechtfertig
  • Event 16: Jesse Hale
  • Event 17: Charles Casavant III
  • Event 18: John Thelen

The next installment of the 2008-2009 WSOPC will take place at Caesars Atlantic City March 4-14.


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »