Ivey, Esfandiari Among 23 Confirmed for $1m ONE DROP at 2014 WSOP

Antonio Esfandiari
Esfandiari will be defending his record as poker's biggest winner in Las Vegas this summer.

Twenty-three players have committed to playing the $1 million buy-in Big One for ONE DROP this summer including Phil Ivey and defending champion Antonio Esfandiari.

The ultra high-roller tournament will play out June 29 at the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas and event staff are expecting to hit the new, bigger 56-player cap.

That means the first place prize will be the biggest in poker history, over $20 million.

By winning the inaugural Big One in 2012 Antonio Esfandiari took down over $18 million.

“I can’t wait to defend my title,” said Esfandiari.

“The event was life-changing, but so was my trip to El Salvador after it with the ONE DROP organization to see first hand what a difference the money raised from this event can do for those in dire need of help.”

The 2012 event raised over $5.3 million for the ONE DROP organization and with $111,111 of every buy-in going directly to the charity again this year expectations are high for that number to be even bigger.

“The inaugural event made history and I look forward to another historic moment again this June,” said event co-founder, ONE DROP Founder Guy Laliberté.

Guy Laliberte
"The support from the poker community continues to be just incredible," said Laliberte.

“The support from the poker community continues to be just incredible.”

The event proved popular with businessmen as well as high-stakes poker pros. Texas hedge fund manager Bill Perkins will be playing again and doesn't lack for bankroll, or confidence.

“Amazingly I lost a million dollars in this event in 2012 but still had a great time,” said Perkins.

“Little do the others know, but that was all part of a plan to set them up for this year. I’m calling my shot now. I will win the 2014 BIG ONE for ONE DROP.”

No New Additions on List of Confirmed Players

The list of names released today includes poker pros and wealthy businessmen, all of whom played in the first $1 million buy-in event.

33 names remain to be revealed meaning the poker world will have to wait to find out which new faces will compete for the biggest prize in poker history.

These are the confirmed players:

  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Guy Laliberté
  • Bobby Baldwin
  • David Einhorn
  • Phil Galfond
  • Philipp Gruissem
  • Phil Ivey
  • Jason Mercier
  • Paul Newey
  • Bill Perkins
  • Vivek Rajkumar
  • Brian Rast
  • Andrew Robl
  • Erik Seidel
  • Brandon Steven
  • Sam Trickett
  • Noah Schwartz
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Anonymous Businessman
  • Aria Resort Satellite Seat
  • Bellagio Resort Satellite Seat
  • World Series of Poker Satellite Seat


    Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick