Ho Survives, Newhouse Tops 2014 WSOP Main Event Day 5

Mark Newhouse is in prime position to return to the World Series of Poker Main Event final table just one year after finishing ninth.

Newhouse was the dominant force on Day 5 of the 2014 Main Event and finished with 7.4 million to secure the chip lead out of the remaining 79 players.

While there are no bonafide big names left in the field there are plenty of notable players in contention including Scott Palmer (6.5 million), Dan Smith (5.3 million), Leif Force (4.7 million), Bryan Devonshire (3.8 million), Matt Waxman (3.1 million) and Isaac Baron (3 million).

Maria Ho Takes Last Woman Standing Honors Again

Maria Ho

Incredibly Maria Ho reprised her title as last woman standing in the Main Event.

She outlasted Mikiyo Aoki and Darlene Lee to snag the honor once again. Ho was the last woman standing in 2007.

Ho is just the third player to repeat as last woman standing joining Annie Duke and Marsha Waggoner although Ho did it in much bigger Main Event fields.

The only downside for Ho is that she’ll have a hard time besting her 38th finish in 2007 with only 435,000 chips and 79 players remaining.

Benger Can't Hold On

The day began with 291 players looking to survive one more day and potentially make it to the final table but Mike Sowers, Tony Ma, Kory Kilpatrick, Konstantin Puchkov and John Monnette all busted in short order.

Griffin Benger had been dominant at times during this tournament but finally ran out of gas in the final level of Day 5.

Benger made an ill-timed shove with pocket jacks and got snapped off by Chad Eveslage with pocket queens. Eveslage flopped a queen, which was more than enough to send Benger packing.

The 79 remaining players will return to the Rio at 12 p.m. local time to resume their quests to make the November Nine. PokerListings will be on hand every step of the way with our On Demand live coverage.

Griffin Benger
End of the line for Benger.

The top 10 in chips per WSOP.com:

  • 1. Mark Newhouse 7,400,000
  • 2. Kyle Keranen 6,670,000
  • 3. Scott Palmer 6,595,000
  • 4. Bruno Politano 5,475,000
  • 5. Andoni Larrabe 5,470,000
  • 6. Dan Smith 5,360,000
  • 7. Dan Sindelar 5,240,000
  • 8. Tony Ruberto 5,235,000
  • 9. Iaron Lightbourne 4,975,000
  • 10. Leif Force 4,745,000
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick